PPCRV: 1 million votes still to be counted

Pia Gutierrez, ABS-CBN News

PPCRV: 1 million votes still to be counted 1
Volunteers of the Parish Pastoral Council for Responsible Voting consolidate transmitted election results from different provinces in the council's command center at the Pope Pius X Catholic Center in Manila, Monday to complement Comelec's partial and unofficial count of election returns. Mark Saludes, ABS-CBN News

MANILA - The Parish Pastoral Council for Responsible Voting (PPCRV) is set to seek permission from the Commission on Elections to close its incomplete parallel count of the May 9 election results.

PPCRV chairperson Henrietta De Villa said the PPCRV-Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas (KBP) quick vote count now should give way to the official Comelec count.

"We need to get clear instructions from Comelec when we can fold up. Sabi ni [Comelec chairman Andres Bautista] 100%, but they're starting to canvass na, Congress malapit na din. So I need to sit with him," De Villa said.

"We cannot go 100% because if [our count] doesn't tally with Comelec or Congress, that would create a lot of confusion again."

The PPCRV and KBP have never completed their parallel count for all precincts since the automation of the polls.

The PPCRV only tallied 93 percent of the votes in 2010; and 92 percent of votes in 2013.

As of 10:45 a.m. Monday, the PPCRV-KBP unofficial parallel count covered 96.13 percent of all 90,628 clustered precincts.

Davao City Mayor Rodrigo Duterte, who got 15,968,245 votes so far, maintained his wide lead over his closes rival, administration pick Mar Roxas, who tallied 6,267,904 votes.

Representative Leni Robredo also sustained her slim lead in the vice-presidential race with 14,022,742 votes. Closely trailing her was Senator Bongbong Marcos with 13,803,444 votes.

The top 12 spots for senator were occupied by Franklin Drilon, Joel Villanueva, Tito Sotto, Panfilo Lacson, Richard Gordon, Miguel Zubiri, Manny Pacquiao, Risa Hontiveros, Francis Pangilinan, Sherwin Gatchalian, Ralph Recto, and Leila De Lima.

De Lima got 13,793,779 votes while 13th placer Francis Tolentino got 12,518,703 votes.

In the party-list race, Ako Bicol remained at the top spot with 1.63-million votes.

De Villa said PPCRV would rather focus now on its manual count, which is essential in verifying the electronically transmitted results.

The fourth copy of the first eight election returns (ERs) printed by the vote counting machines prior to transmission went to the PPCRV, as the accredited citizens' arm of the Comelec.

De Villa said she will ask for an appointment with Comelec chairman Atty. Andres Bautista on Monday afternoon so the PPCRV can concentrate on encoding the manual ERs.

The PPCRV will also compare the manual ERs with the transmitted election results.

De Villa also cautioned candidates in tight races against claiming victory, saying that some one million votes that have yet to be counted will still be "material", especially in the tightly contested vice-presidential derby.

She said it is more prudent to wait for official results.

"If I were the one [to be asked], I'd caution both parties from claiming victory... Sandali na lang naman eh... Huwag nang painitin pa," De Villa said.

READ: Robredo camp claims victory in VP race

The PPCRV-KBP command center, where the manual encoding of ERs and receipt of electronically transmitted results take place, is located at the Pope Pius XII Catholic Center in Manila.