PPCRV to Comelec: Advise us on protocol on script changes

Ina Reformina, ABS-CBN News

MANILA - The Parish Pastoral Council for Responsible Voting, the accredited citizens arm of the Commission on Elections (Comelec) for Halalan 2016, has asked to be properly advised on the protocol governing any necessary changes that may or may not be done on the script and hash code in the transparency server situated at the PPCRV-Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas (KBP) Command Center in Manila.

PPCRV media and communications director Ana De Villa Singson said that while the new script or command did not alter the votes obtained by the candidates, and was merely "cosmetic" in nature, it may have an effect on how the public views the credibility of the polls.

"Nakakalungkot, especially that this happened at this point na marami nang nabilang at napakabilis ng transmission. But moving forward, we want to know the protocol so that this does not happen again in the future," Singson told reporters at a chance interview at the PPCRV Command Center at the Pope Pius Catholic Center along U.N. Avenue in Manila.

The new command was entered into the transparency server in the evening of May 9. Singson stressed that authorized political party representatives and a PPCRV representative were present during the activity.

READ: Comelec: Transparency server script altered, won't affect results

As of 10:45 am on Friday, the PPCRV-KBP Quick Count showed 95.91% (90,416 of clustered precincts out of the 92,509 local clustered precincts and 1,767 overseas absentee voting precincts) of transmitted results already in.

Davao City Mayor Rodrigo Duterte still led the presidential race with 15.92-million votes; former interior and local government Secretary Mar Roxas came in second at 9.69-million votes. The difference: 6.23-million votes.

Representative Leni Robredo also still led the vice-presidencial candidates with 14-million votes; Senator Bongbong Marcos came in second with 13.78-million votes. The difference: 223,234 votes.

In the top 12 for senatorial candidates: Franklin Drilon, Joel Villanueva, Tito Sotto, Panfilo Lacson, Richard Gordon, Miguel Zubiri, Manny Pacquiao, Risa Hontiveros, Francis Pangilinan, Sherwin Gatchalian, Ralph Recto, and Leila De Lima. Coming in at 13th place is Francis Tolentino. De Lima leads Tolentino by 1.27-million votes.

Singson said the votes coming in will still matter especially for the tight VP race as well as the senatorial contest ranking.