Trillanes concedes in VP race


Senator Antonio Trillanes IV. Fernando Sepe, Jr., ABS-CBN News

MANILA – Senator Antonio Trillanes IV has accepted his defeat in the vice-presidential race.

''As our countrymen await the final victor, I hereby concede defeat in the vice-presidential race. I humbly submit to the will of the people for they are sovereign in our democracy. May God bless our country,'' Trillanes said in a statement.

As of 10:59 a.m. today, Trillanes has 799,922 votes, only ahead of last-placer Senator Gringo Honasan who has 719,266 votes.

Sen. Bongbong Marcos and Camarines Sur Rep. Leni Robredo are in a tight race for the vice-presidency. Robredo had 13,364,461 votes while the only son and namesake of the late dictator had 13,194,150.

READ: Leni overtakes Bongbong in VP race

Senator Alan Peter Cayetano is the current third-placer with 5,469,894 votes.

Fourth-placer Senator Francis Escudero, who has 4,599,961 votes, had earlier admitted defeat in the VP race. He also said he preferred a "kababayan" to win the VP race, referring to Robredo.

Chiz prefers 'kababayan' to win VP race

The count is based on 76.69% of registered voters.