5 newcomers in Senate in new ABS-CBN Pulse Asia survey


5 newcomers in Senate in new ABS-CBN Pulse Asia survey 1

MANILA - There are no surprises in the race for the Senate based on the latest ABS-CBN survey conducted by Pulse Asia Research. Four thousand respondents were polled from April 26 to 29, with a nationwide margin of error of 1.5%.

The likely winning circle is led by Senate President Franklin Drilon, followed by Senator Tito Sotto, former Senator Kiko Pangilinan, former Senator Juan Miguel Zubiri, Senator Ping Lacson, Representative Manny Pacquiao, former PhilHealth director Risa Hontiveros, former TESDA chief Joel Villanueva, Senator Serge Osmeña, former Senator Dick Gordon, former Justice Secretary Leila de Lima, Senator Ralph Recto and Mayor Sherwin Gatchalian.

The same names were present in the immediately preceding survey though there were changes in ranking.

The April 19 to 24 survey ranked the senatorial candidates in this order: Sotto, Drilon, Pangilinan, Lacson, Pacquiao, Zubiri, Hontiveros, de Lima, Osmeña, Villanueva, Gordon, Recto and Gatchalian.

Drilon, Pangilinan, de Lima, Villanueva and Recto are under the administration party, while Sotto and Gatchalian are under the Nationalist People’s Coalition (NPC).

Pacquiao is with UNA, Hontiveros with Akbayan, while Lacson, Zubiri, Osmeña and Gordon filed their certificates of candidacy as independent.

Only Pacquiao, Hontiveros, Villanueva, de Lima and Gatchalian would be the only first timers in the Senate, if elected. Of these four, De Lima is the only one without prior experience as a legislator.

The previous ABS-CBN Survey by Pulse Asia also showed that Filipino registered voters are naming an average of seven of their choices for senator.