5 LP bets among top 12 in Senate race: SWS


Senator Franklin Drilon III, Senator Francis Pangilinan, former Justice Secretary Leila De Lima, former TESDA director Joel Villanueva and Senator Ralph Recto

MANILA - Five of the 12 probable winners of the senatorial race are from the Liberal Party (LP), according to the latest Social Weather Stations (SWS) survey.

The March 20 to April 2 poll commissioned by BusinessWorld also showed that two candidates from the LP, one from the Nationalist People’s Coalition (NPC) and one independent bet "were in a statistical tie."

Leading the 50 candidates vying for a Senate seat were Senate President Franklin Drilon of LP who scored 45% and NPC's Vicente Sotto III with 42%.

Also among the top 12 were Senator Francis Pangilinan of LP, and independent candidate Panfilo Lacson, both with 37%.

Completing the Senate "Magic 12" were eight candidates who were also in a statistical tie, including:

former Justice Secretary Leila De Lima, LP (31%)
Juan Miguel Zubiri, independent (31%)
Sarangani Cong. Emmanuel Pacquiao, United Nationalist Alliance (31%)
former Akbayan party-list Representative Risa Hontiveros (30%)

Senator Sergio OsmeƱa III, independent (34.2%)
Senator Ralph Recto, LP (30%)
Richard Gordon (30%)
former TESDA director Joel Villanueva, LP (28%)

The survey covered 1,500 adult respondents from all over the country. It has an error margin of ± 3 percent.

READ: Duterte tops new SWS survey

READ: Bongbong takes solo lead in VP race: SWS