Voting overseas: A guide for Filipinos abroad


MANILA – Philippine foreign service posts—embassies, consulates, economic zones—in different countries will be the venue of voting for overseas voters starting April 9 (8:00 a.m. host country).

According to the Commission on Elections (Comelec), there are two ways a Filipino can vote overseas, depending on the host country/city.

The first one is “personal voting” where one should go to the designated Philippine foreign service post to cast his/her vote.

Upon the voter's arrival at the designated post, Special Board of Election Inspectors will verify the identity of the registered voter via biometrics.

Once verified, a voter may get his/her ballot and a ballot secrecy folder and proceed to the voting area and accomplish the ballot.

If a voter is in a Philippine foreign service post adopting an automated election system, he/she will proceed to feed his/her ballot to the vote-counting machine (VCM).

READ: How the vote counting machine works

But for those in posts adopting a manual election system, they would have to fold the ballot in the same manner as they received it and place it inside the ballot box.

There will also be host countries/cities that will adopt a postal manual election system.

In these areas, registered voters will receive mail containing their ballot or they will be advised where they can pick their ballot up.

After this, the voter shall accomplish his/her ballot and affix his/her thumbmark in the space provided on the ballot's lower portion.

The voter then shall detach the ballot coupon from the ballot and place it inside the ballot envelope and seal with a paper seal.

The Comelec said ballots should be folded properly and should not be crumpled and damaged.

Voters should mail the accomplished ballot inside a sealed ballot envelope to the embassy, consulate or any foreign service establishment concerned.

Of the 85 Philippine Foreign Service Posts across the globe, only 30 will adopt the automated election system.


Agana, Guam
Chicago, USA
Honolulu. Hawaii
Los Angeles, USA
New York, USA
Ottawa, Canada
San Francisco, USA
Toronto, Canada
Vancouver, Canada
Washington, DC


London, UK
Madrid, Spain
Milan, Italy
Rome, Italy


Hong Kong
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Osaka, Japan
Seoul, South Korea
Tokyo, Japan


Abu Dhabi, UAE
Beirut, Lebanon
Doha, Qatar
Dubai, UAE
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Manama, Bahrain
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Tel Aviv, Israel

Meanwhile, 26 Philippine foreign posts will adopt a personal manual voting system:


Lisbon, Portugal


Bangkok, Thailand
Chongqing, China
Dhaka, Bangladesh
Dili, East Timor
Guangzhou, China
Islamabad, Pakistan
Jakarta, Indonesia
Macau, China
Manado, Indonesia
Meco Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Meco, Taichung, Taiwan
Meco Taipei, Taiwan
New Delhi, India
Pnom Penh, Cambodia
Shanghai, China
Vientiane, Laos
Xiamen, China


Abuja, Nigeria
Amman, Jordan
Cairo, Egypt
Muscat, Oman
Nairobi, Kenya
Pretoria, South Africa
Tehran, Iran

There will also be 26 Philippine foreign posts that will adopt a postal manual voting system:


Brasilia, Brazil
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Santiago, Chile


Ankara, Turkey
Athens, Greece
Berlin, Germany
Berne, Switzerland
Brussels, Belgium
Budapest, Hungary
Geneva, Switzerland
Holy See
Moscow, Russia
Oslo, Norway
Paris, France
Prague, Czech Republic
The Hague, Netherlands
Vienna, Austria
Warsaw, Poland


Beijing, China
Canberra, Australia
Hanoi, Vietnam
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Sydney, Australia
Wellington, New Zealand
Yangon, Myanmar

Overseas voting on May 9, 2016 at 9:00 p.m. Philippine time. For more info visit ABS-CBN News' Halalan website here.—with reports from Jeanyn Santiano for ABS-CBN News