Filipina wins Korea Image award in Seoul


Posted at Dec 21 2011 09:40 AM | Updated as of Dec 21 2011 11:33 PM

Filipina actress Jasmine Lee and Korean actor Yoo Ah-in appeared in the hit Korean film "Punch".

MANILA, Philippines - A Filipina is the first recipient of the Korea Image Millstone Award from the Corea Image Communication Institute (CICI) in Seoul, Korea.

The CICI on Monday named Jasmine Lee, who recently starred in the hit Korean film "Punch" (Wandeugi), as the winner of its Korea Image Millstone Award, according to a report from The Korea Herald.

The Korea Image Millstone Award was created this year to honor foreigners in Korea who have integrated well in Korean society, like the way grains are mixed well in a millstone.

"The Korea Image Stepping Stone Bridge award is given to foreigners who live outside of Korea and introduce Korea overseas. We thought that now is the time to also honor foreigners who are living in Korea and putting in efforts to promote Korea. Lee has been doing many volunteer and charity works for foreign immigrants living here,” said CICI president Choi Jung-hwa.

Lee played the role of a Filipina estranged from her Korean husband and son in "Punch." The film, which stars Korean heartthrob Yoo Ah-in, was a blockbuster hit in Korea, attracting nearly 5 million viewers since it premiered in late October.

Lee, a native of Davao, was also a regular panelist on a KBS talk show "Love in Asia" and has been involved in various charities and multiculturalism advocacy efforts in Korea.

In 2010, she won the accolade "People Who Enlighten the World" from Korea Green Foundation. At present, she works for the PR team at the Seoul Global Center, one of the first migrant women hired to be civil servants by Seoul City Government.

The CICI is an organization committed to helping South Korea promote and develop its image overseas. It has been giving annual CICI Korea Image awards since 2005 to recognize individuals, events, objects and organizations that help promote Korea.

Aside from Lee, winners of the 2011 CICI awards include the 2018 PyeongChang Winter Games Organizing Committee and cartoon character Pororo.