TFC to offer PPV of Pac-Floyd bout in Middle East

ABS-CBN News

Posted at Apr 11 2015 06:16 PM | Updated as of Apr 12 2015 02:19 AM

DUBAI -- ABS-CBN's The Filipino Channel (TFC) will be the exclusive distributor of the much-awaited welterweight world championship unification bout between Floyd Mayweather, Jr. and Manny Pacquiao on all media platforms in the Middle East on May 2.

"At a time when we are witnessing one of the busiest pay-per-view calendars in boxing in a long time, to be chosen and trusted as the exclusive distributor of not just any marquee PPV boxing event but the 'Fight of the Century' is a milestone that we are truly proud of," said Kai Rodriguez, ABS-CBN managing director for Europe, Middle East and Africa operations.

"This solidifies our commitment to strengthen our live sports entertainment offerings, deliver these on our TFC platforms to one of the largest and most engaged audiences in the region, and expand the reach of our content through signed carriage agreements with industry partners," she added.

ABS-CBN Global COO Raffy Lopez said TFC will always be instrumental in bringing the biggest sporting events to fans around the world.

"TFC has always been at the ringside of numerous major sporting events in history,” he said. “Since 2006, starting with the Pacquiao-Morales fight, TFC in the Middle East has been bringing the biggest fights of Pacquiao’s legendary career to the homes of Filipinos in the region. Now, as exclusive distributor in the Middle East and viewing destination platform for the Mayweather-Pacquiao event, all boxing fans there will get better than ringside seats as they watch the fight from the comfort of their homes and enjoy world class sports entertainment."

On May 3 at 4 a.m. in KSA and 5 a.m. in UAE (May 2, 9pm EST/6pm Pacific), boxing aficionados in the Middle East can catch the mega-fight between two of the world’s best pound-for-pound boxers live from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas via PPV on the following cable networks: OSN, eLifeTV and Du.

For the first time, the network is also making the fight available on the big screen in cinemas across the Gulf, in partnership with Novo Cinemas.

As the fight falls on a work day in the Middle East, those who cannot stay home or hit the cinemas on the historic date can also catch the fight online on TFC.tv.

For more information on the Mayweather-Pacquiao Fight of the Century or to order live pay-per-view, please contact the providers above or visit www.tfc.tv.