ASEAN from A to Z


Posted at Nov 13 2017 07:31 PM | Updated as of Nov 14 2017 01:53 PM

World leaders are set to converge in Manila this week for the 31st Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Summit.

The ASEAN was formed on August 8, 1967 after Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand inked an agreement in Bangkok.

In the succeeding decades, Brunei, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar and Cambodia joined the group, making it the 10-member regional bloc it is today.

Here are some ABCs about the 50-year-old regional bloc.

Click on the letters for short descriptions