READ: The Supreme Court decision affirming Mindanao martial law


Posted at Jul 05 2017 10:41 PM | Updated as of Jul 06 2017 01:25 PM

(UPDATED/CORRECTED) The Supreme Court, in a majority vote, has affirmed President Rodrigo Duterte's declaration of martial law in Mindanao.

Eleven justices voted to uphold the president's declaration.

Two others--Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno, Benjamin Caguioa--voted to limit the declaration to Marawi City and the rest of Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, and Sulu. (Our earlier stories before the decisions were released said Sereno and Caguioa voted to limit martial law only to Marawi City. We regret the error. -- Eds.) 

Senior Associate Justice Antonio Carpio voted to limit the declaration to Marawi City only. 

Associate Justice Marvic Leonen, meanwhile, voted to nullify the proclamation altogether.

The ruling stands as the first on the merits of a martial law declaration under Article 7, Section 18 of the 1987 Constitution, which provides safeguards against a repeat of an abusive military rule seen during the time of deposed dictator Ferdinand Marcos.

Read the full text of the decision released by the high court Wednesday night: