JV, Loren top pol advertisers

by RG Cruz, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Apr 02 2013 04:00 PM | Updated as of Apr 03 2013 10:09 PM

MANILA (UPDATED)- Senatorial candidates JV Ejercito and Loren Legarda are so far the top broadcast political advertisers of the 2013 mid-term election campaigns.

Broadcast giants ABS-CBN, GMA and DZRH took the lion’s share of the political advertising pie, based on the records of the Comelec’s education and information department as reported by TV and radio networks.

Ejercito emerged as the top television advertiser, consuming 26 minutes as of March 22, 2013, while Legarda was the top radio advertiser with 44 minutes.

Ejercito placed 15 minutes of advertisements on GMA Network, 8 minutes on ABS-CBN, and 3 minutes on TV5.

Asked about the Comelec report, Ejercito noted that the 120-minute airtime limit levels the playing field for all senatorial candidates.

"Parang mahirap yata kasi pantay pantay na 120-minute ang airtime and we are very much monitoring that," he told reporters.

Ejercito is followed by Richard Gordon and Ernesto Maceda, who have both consumed 23 minutes each.

Gordon and Maceda each placed 14.5 minutes with GMA and 8.5 minutes on ABS-CBN.

Miguel Zubiri placed 4th with 19.25 minutes, of which 5.75 minutes went to ABS-CBN and 13.5 minutes went to GMA.

Teddy Casino is at 5th place with 16.5 minutes (12.5 minutes with ABS-CBN, 4 minutes with GMA).

In a statement, Casino said he is incredulous that he has placed 5th in the Comelec list when other candidates have more ads on TV.

"That's unbelievable! I cannot imagine how I could have more airtime compared to candidates whose ads I see several times in several channels everyday. In fact, my lack of TV ads is one of my biggest problems as a candidate. Tapos sasabihin ngayon ng COMELEC na panglima ako? Marunong ba talagang silang magbilang? Wala bang dagdag bawas dito?" he asked.

For its part, Comelec said it will scrutinize the submissions of the networks.

Other bets

Jack Enrile has consumed 15.5 minutes (5.5 with ABS-CBN, 10 with GMA).

Ramon Magsaysay Jr. has consumed 14 minutes (3 mins ABS-CBN, 2 mins TV5, 9 mins GMA).

Bam Aquino has 13.75 minutes (4.75 mins ABS-CBN, 9.25 mins GMA)

Risa Hontiveros also has 13.75 minutes (5 mins ABS-CBN, 8.75 GMA)

Edgardo Angara has 12 minutes (5 mins ABS-CBN, 7 mins GMA).

Alan Cayetano has 11.5 minutes (3 mins ABS-CBN, 8.5 mins GMA).

Loren Legarda has 11 minutes, (5 mins ABS-CBN, 6 minutes GMA).

Grace Poe has 10.5 minutes (ABS-CBN only).

Jamby Madrigal has 7.25 minutes (3.5 mins ABS-CBN, 3.75 mins GMA)

Koko Pimentel has 7 mins (1.75 mins ABS-CBN, 5.25 GMA)

Edward Hagedorn 5.25 mins (2.75 mins ABS-CBN, 2.5 mins GMA).

Nancy Binay has 3.5 minutes (3 minutes ABS-CBN, 30 seconds GMA).

With regards to party [ad] time, the United Nationalist Alliance (UNA) has already consumed 52 minutes (25 mins ABS-CBN, 27 mins GMA)

The Liberal Party has consumed 4.5 minutes (3 mins ABS-CBN, 1.5 mins GMA).

Buhay party-list group has consumed 3 minutes, all which was spent on GMA 7.

Radio advertising

Among radio advertisers, Legarda has consumed 44 minutes, of which 5 minutes went to ABS-CBN, 10 minutes went to GMA7-DZBB, 9 mins went to DZRH, 5 minutes went to DZMB, 15 minutes went to DWSM-FM.

A far second was Zubiri with 19 minutes, of which 8 minutes was spent in DZRH, and 11 minutes in DWSM-FM.

Ramon Magsaysay Jr. has 10.5 minutes, of which 6 minutes went to DZMM, 4.5 minutes to DZBB.

Casino has 6.75 minutes: 5 minutes in DZMM, 61.75 minutes in DZBB.

The Liberal Party has 6 minutes, with DZMM and DZRH each getting 3 minutes.

Top party-list spenders

Among party-list groups, Bagong Henerasyon has consumed 26 minutes of radio airtime, with DZMB and Yes FM each getting 13 minutes.

LPGMA has consumed 13.5 minutes which went to DZRH, while Bayan Muna has 4 minutes also in DZRH.

Abakada, ABS and AMS party-list groups also have spots in other stations.

Each candidate for senator and party-list group has 120 minutes of TV air time and 180 minutes of radio air time aggregate for all networks.

This is in stark contrast to previous elections where the reckoning was on a per-network basis.

Each party, on the other hand, also has its own 120 minutes for TV and 180 minutes for radio.

ABS-CBN got 121 mins, GMA 163.5 minutes, and TV5 with 7.75 mins.

DZRH is the top pick for radio advertisements with 37.5 minutes, followed by DWSM with 26 minutes, DZMM 19 minutes, DZMB 18 minutes, DZBB 16.25 minutes.