'Bonifacio,' 'English Only' win big at 40th MMFF


Posted at Dec 27 2014 10:31 PM | Updated as of Dec 28 2014 06:37 PM

MANILA - A biopic that chronicles the life of Andres Bonifacio and a romantic comedy starring Derek Ramsay and Jennylyn Mercado were the runaway winners at the 40th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) awards ceremony held on Saturday.

"Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo" took home the Best Picture award, along with several other awards such as Best Musical Scorer, Best Theme Song, Best Cinematographer, and Best Sound Engineer.

 It was also honored with four special awards, namely Youth's Choice, Best Float, the FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence, and the Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award.

Meanwhile, Dan Villegas, the director of "English Only, Please," was named Best Director. Both the film's lead stars, Ramsay and Mercado, bagged the top acting honors.

In addition, the film also won 2nd Best Picture, Best Screenplay, Best Original Story, and Best Editor.

"Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2" was named 3rd Best Picture. It also won six other awards, which included Best Supporting roles for Lotlot de Leon and Joey Marquez.

The ER Ejercito-starrer "Magnum Muslim .357" and other entries such "Feng Shui 2", "Shake, Rattle & Roll 14", and "The Amazing Praybeyt Benjamin" failed to bag a single award.

"My Big Bossing", which was said to be one of the top four grossing films of this year's MMFF, managed to score Best Child Performer.

Here's the full list of winners:


  • Best Picture: "Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo"
  • 2nd Best Picture: "English Only, Please"
  • 3rd Best Picture: "Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2"
  • Best Actor: Derek Ramsay, "English Only, Please"
  • Best Actress: Jennylyn Mercado, "English Only, Please"
  • Best Director: Dan Villegas, "English Only, Please"
  • Best Screenplay: "English Only, Please"
  • Best Original Story: "English Only, Please"
  • Best Supporting Actress: Lotlot de Leon, "Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2"
  • Best Supporting Actor: Joey Marquez, "Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2"
  • Best Cinematographer: Carlo Mendoza, "Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo"
  • Best Editor: Marya Ignacio, "English Only, Please"
  • Best Sound Engineer: "Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo"
  • Best Child Performer: Ryzza Mae Dizon, "My Big Bossing"
  • Best Musical Scorer: "Von de Guzman, "Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo"
  • Best Theme Song: Von de Guzman, "Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo"
  • Best Make-Up Artist: "Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2"
  • Best Visual Effects: "Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2"
  • Best Production Designer: Ericson Navarro, "Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2"


  • FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence: "Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo"
  • Face of the Night: Nadine Lustre
  • Youth Choice Film Award: "Bonifacio, Ang Unang Pangulo"
  • Best Float: "Bonifacio, Ang Unang Pangulo"
  • Special MMFF 40th Year Award: MMDA Chair Francis Tolentino
  • Special Commemorative Award: Manila Mayor Joseph Estrada
  • Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award: "Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo"


  • New Wave Best Director: Jason Paul Laxamana, "Magkakabaung"
  • New Wave Best Picture: "Magkakabaung"
  • New Wave Jury Prize: "M: Mother's Maiden Name"
  • New Wave Best Actress: Zsa Zsa Padilla, "M: Mother's Maiden Name"
  • New Wave Best Actor: Allen Dizon, "Magkakabaung"
  • New Wave Best Supporting Actress: Gloria Sevilla, "M: Mother's Maiden Name"
  • New Wave Best Supporting Actor: Kristoffer King, "Maratabat"