The votes have it: Mark Mabasa exits X Factor


Posted at Aug 12 2012 11:19 PM | Updated as of Aug 13 2012 11:03 PM

Mark Mabasa

MANILA, Philippines - A deadlock in the judges' saves and low text/online votes led to versatile performer Mark Mabasa's exit from ABS-CBN's The X Factor Philippines during the show's 2nd elimination night.

It was the boys' turn to battle it out Sunday after Mabasa and vocal group Take Off received the lowest number of votes in the competition for the week. 

Mabasa sang James Ingram's "There's No Easy Way" while Take Off did their version of "Fall For You" by Secondhand Serenade for the judges' save. 

X Factor judges Martin Nievera and Pilita Corrales both voted to boot out Take Off. On the other hand, X Factor judge and Groups mentor Gary Valenciano said he believed in Take Off's talent and wanted Mabasa to leave. 

Charice, the youngest of the X Factor judges, admitted she could not  make up her mind on which act to remove from the show. In the end, she chose to eliminate Mabasa, resulting in a deadlock in the judges' votes.  

Under X Factor rules, if the 4 judges' votes are deadlocked, the contestant with the lowest number of votes will be eliminated. 

This led to Mabasa's elimination after he received only 3.72% of the votes compared to Take Off's 3.90%. 

Mabasa now joins dive guide Jerrianne Templo as the first finalists to be eliminated from X Factor Philippines.  Mabasa's name also became a trending topic on Twitter after the show.  

Raffy Calicdan, a member of Take Off, also posted the following statement in his Twitter account after the show.

"It's not a battle between Takeoff & Mark Mabasa, we were just the 2 unfortunate contestants who didn't get enough votes. Pls don't hate us," he said.  

There are now 10 remaining finalists in the first season of X-Factor Philippines.

They are:

Modesto Taran and Joan Da in the Over 25's category; 

Take-Off, Daddy's Home and AKA Jam in the Groups category; 

Jeric Medina, Gabriel Maturan, and Kedebon Colim in the Boys category; 

KZ Tandingan and Allen Jane Sta. Maria in the Girls category.