Rosa Rosal receives Gawad Plaridel


Posted at Jul 31 2012 06:32 PM | Updated as of Aug 01 2012 04:22 PM

MANILA, Philippines – The University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication (UP CMC) honored veteran film and television actress Rosa Rosal on Tuesday as this year’s recipient of the U.P. Gawad Plaridel.

UP CMC earlier said it chose to recognize Rosal this year for her outstanding contributions to the broadcasting industry, particularly in the field of television.

UP CMC said Rosal’s “unquestionable integrity, unceasing and genuine volunteerism, and tireless humanitarian work and advocacy epitomize the value that other public persons have forgotten or taken for granted.”

Rosa Rosal receives Gawad Plaridel 1
UP President Alfredo Pascual hands Gawad Plaridel trophy to veteran actress Rosa Rosal

In an interview with ABS-CBN News, Rosal said she is truly grateful to be given the award because all she really wanted was to be of help to other people.

“Noon ang gusto ko lang makakuha ng maraming dugo at pera para sa Red Cross. Iyan ang aking pangarap sa buhay. I hope the government would have a steady income for the blood donors,” she said.

“Hindi ko na kailangan ng title. Ang importante sa akin, anong maitutulong natin sa bayan kagaya ng blood donation,” she added.

Rosal also said she is hoping her legacy will live on even when she passes away.

“The Lord can take me home anytime... sana kahit mamatay na ako, may mga magpapatuloy nitong legacy na iniwanan ko. I have no regrets in my life. I have so much blessings. Sana may mga kabataan na artista na susunod sa yapak ko,” she said.

During the awarding ceremony held in UP, Rosal received her trophy, which was designed by National Artist Napoleon V. Abueva.

It was awarded to her by UP president Alfredo E. Pascual and UP Diliman chancellor Caesar A. Saloma.

Last year, the award was given to Eloisa C. Canlas (a.k.a. Lola Sela) for her outstanding contributions in the field of radio.

Past recipients include Philippine Daily Inquirer founder, Eugenia Duran-Apostol (2004, Print Journalism); actress Vilma Santos (2005, Film); Fidela “Tiya Dely” Magpayo (2006, Radio); Cecilia L. Lazaro (2007, Television); Atty. Pachico A. Seares (2008, Community Print Media); and Kidlat Tahimik (2009, Film).

The award is named after Marcelo H. del Pilar (nom de plume, Plaridel), the selfless propagandist whose stewardship of the reformist newspaper La Solidaridad helped crystallize nationalist sentiments and ignite libertarian ideas in the 1890s. – from a report by Mario Dumaual, ABS-CBN News