Itchyworms, Jason Dy sing winning tunes at PhilPop 2016


Posted at Jul 24 2016 06:57 PM

MANILA – The song “Di Na Muli,” interpreted by OPM band Itchyworms, won this year’s Philippine Popular Music Festival or PhilPop held at the KIA Theater on Saturday.

According to a report by entertainment site PEP, the song’s composers Jazz Nicolas and Wally Acolola brought home a cash prize of P1 million.


A photo posted by JUGS Jugueta (@jugsjugsjugs) on


A photo posted by JUGS Jugueta (@jugsjugsjugs) on

The first runner-up trophy went to composer Soc Villanueva for his song "Lahat," which was interpreted by Kapamilya singer Jason Dy. Villanueva won P500,000.

The song "Tinatangi," composed by Miguel and Paolo Guico, finished second runner-up and was also given the Best Music Video award. It was interpreted by Cookie Chua and Bayang Barrios. The Guico twins brought home P250,000.

Aside from their respective cash prizes, the top three winners were also given an Orlina glass trophy each.

Making up the panel of judges were Maynilad’s chief operating officer Randolph Estrellado, and performers Noel Cabangon, Rico Blanco, Gloc-9 and Joanna Ampil.