Sharon honored with OPM Achievement Award


Posted at Jul 16 2015 05:18 PM | Updated as of Jul 17 2015 04:04 AM

MANILA - Daniel Padilla and Yeng Constantino took home the top prizes at the MOR Pinoy Music Awards 2015 held at the Araneta Coliseum over the weekend, while Sharon Cuneta received the prestigious OPM Lifetime Achievement Award.

Cuneta personally accepted the award and also performed with Carla Estrada, Christian Bautista, Morissette, Klarisse De Guzman, Liezel Garcia, Nyoy Volante, and Jolina Magdangal in a special tribute number.

Padilla and Constantino were awarded as Male and Female Artist of the Year, respectively.

Currently on its second year, MOR Pinoy Music Awards aims to celebrate Original Pinoy Music (OPM) by recognizing some of the best contemporary music artists and performers in the industry.

Comedian Vice Ganda took home the LSS Hit of the Year for his song "Boom Panes." He also graced the event by debuting his newest single “Huwag Kang Pabebe.”

Actor Enchong Dee and "The Voice of the Philippines" finalist Morissette bagged the Dance Hit of the Year and the Best New Artist of the Year Award, respectively.

James Reid and Nadine Lustre, popularly known as JaDine, won the Best Collaboration award for their song “No Erase.”

Meanwhile, KZ Tandingan’s “Mahal Mo o Mahal Ako” was recognized as the Song of the Year.

MOR Pinoy Music Awards also recognized Von Saw by awarding him the Regional Song of the Year Award for his Cebuano single “Sa Akong Heart.”

The advertising industry was also included in the awards as Tuseran Forte’s “Habit Song” received the Kantamercial of the Year Award.

This year's winners were determined through the total votes from texters and through the decision of a selected panel of judges from the Organisasyon ng Pilipinong Mang-aawit and the MOR Pinoy Music Awards committee.

The event was hosted by MOR 101.9 DJs. It was also attended by guest presenters and performers, including Alex Gonzaga, Janella Salvador, Marlo Mortel, Lyca Gairanod, Edward Benosa, Jovit Baldivino, Harana boys, Bugoy Drilon, JC Padilla, and Kaye Cal.