Kapamilya stars nearly sweep OMG! awards


Posted at Jul 06 2012 11:03 PM | Updated as of Jul 07 2012 10:45 PM

 MANILA, Philippines -- Stars of the Kapamilya network achieved a near-sweep of this year's Yahoo! OMG! Awards.

Kapamilya stars nearly sweep OMG! awards 1

ABS-CBN talents on Friday took turns accepting their respective trophies at the Yahoo! OMG! Awards ceremony held at the Mall of Asia Arena.

Over 4 million text and online votes were tallied for the awards. 

Hosted by TV personalities Raymond Gutierrez, Solenn Heussaff and Isabelle Daza, the star-studded event saw Kapamilya talents bagging 19 out of 25 awards.

Pop Star Princess Sarah Geronimo and Kapamilya balladeer Christian Bautista were named Female and Male Singers of the Year.

The halves of winning love team "KimXi" (Kim Chiu and Xian Lim) also won in their respective categories as Breakthrough Actor and Actress of the Year.

Child star Xyriel Manabat, meanwhile, bagged the sole award recognizing kiddie talents on-screen.

Comedian-host Vice Ganda continues his winning streak this year with the latest nod to his comedic talent, being OMG's Comedian of the Year award. 

Kapamilya stars nearly sweep OMG! awards 2
Angel Locsin bags three awards. File photo

Award-winning actress Eugene Domingo was named Comedienne of the Year.

"Kapamilya, Deal or No Deal" host Luis Manzano and "Pinoy Big Brother" mainstay Bianca Gonzales were also named as TV Hosts of the Year.

Teen star Daniel Padilla, meanwhile, cemented his heartthrob status as the Male Newcomer of the Year. His co-star in primetime series "Princess and I" Enrique Gil, on the other hand, was named Most Promising Actor at the awards night.

Young actress Kathryn Bernardo completed the sweep for her show's nominated stars, as she accepted her award for Most Promising Actress.

Only weeks after their announcement that they are officially a couple, Azkals striker Phil Younghusband and actress Angel Locsin were declared Couple of the Year.

Locsin also bagged the Actress of the Year award, with "Walang Hanggan" lead star Coco Martin taking home the trophy in the male category.

The "Imortal" star had much to rejoice during the ceremony, as her film "Unofficially Yours" was also named Movie of the Year.

After being hailed "Most Beautiful" in entertainment magazine YES! and topbilling a Hollywood film, actress and "It's Showtime" host Anne Curtis was given top honors at the OMG! Awards, as she was awarded Celebrity of the Year.

Recognition was also given to Star for All Seasons Vilma Santos, for her Major Impact in the industry. Santos, who is celebrating her 50th year in the show business, is set to appear in Star Cinema film "The Healing."

The OMG! Awards recognize the most-searched celebrities online, as their names' appearance on Yahoo's trending topics form basis of their nomination in the yearly poll.

From the list of nominees, fans were able to root for their favorite celebrities via online and SMS voting.

Below is the full list of winners:

  • Male Singer of the Year: Christian Bautista
  • Female Singer of the Year: Sarah Geronimo
  • Breakthrough Actor of the Year: Xian Lim
  • Breakthrough Actress of the Year: Kim Chiu
  • Child Star of the Year: Xyriel Manabat
  • Male Radio DJ: Papa Jack
  • Female Radio DJ: Nicole Hyala
  • Best Radio Show: The Morning Rush
  • Best FM Radio Station: WLS FM 97.1
  • Band of the Year: Parokya ni Edgar
  • Comedian of the Year: Vice Ganda
  • Comedienne of the Year: Eugene Domingo
  • Male TV Host: Luis Manzano
  • Female TV Host: Bianca Gonzalez
  • Female Newcomer of the Year: Solenn Heussaff
  • Male Newcomer of the Year: Daniel Padilla
  • Most Promising Actor: Enrique Gil
  • Most Promising Actress: Kathryn Bernardo
  • Fan Club of the Year: KimXi (Kim Chiu-Xian Lim fan club)
  • Love Team of the Year: Kim Chiu and Xian Lim
  • It Couple of the Year: Angel Locsin and Phil Younghusband
  • Major Impact: Vilma Santos
  • Movie of the Year: Unofficially Yours
  • Actor of the year: Coco Martin
  • Actress of the Year: Angel Locsin
  • Celebrity of the Year: Anne Curtis