ABS-CBN artists dominate OMG! Awards


Posted at Jun 22 2011 01:29 PM | Updated as of Jun 22 2011 09:29 PM

MANILA, Philippines – ABS-CBN artists won big at Yahoo!'s OMG! Awards held at Republiq Club, Newport Mall in Resorts World Manila on Tuesday night.

Kapamilya celebrities bagged 10 out of 18 awards, including the Hottest Actor trophy for Piolo Pascual and Major Impact Personality of the Year award for 2011 Binibining Pilipinas-Universe Shamcey Supsup.

Coco Martin, lead star of “Minsan Lang Kita Iibigin,” bagged the Breakthrough Male Artist prize, beating fellow ABS-CBN talents JM De Guzman, Enchong Dee and Derek Ramsay.

The Breakthrough Female Artist award went to Cristine Reyes.

Vice Ganda, meantime, defeated Prince of Comedy Vic Sotto after grabbing the Funniest Comedian prize.

“Mara Clara” stars Albie Casino and Kathryn Bernardo won the Awesome Young Actor and Awesome Young Actress awards. Their co-star, Julia Montes, was also nominated in the same category but she lost to Bernardo.

Close friends Luis Manzano and Toni Gonzaga were named Favorite Male TV Host and Favorite Female TV Host, respectively.

Christian Bautista took home the Coolest Male Singer prize.

OMG! Awards recognize the most-searched celebrities on Yahoo!’s newest and leading entertainment property in the Philippines.

The Awards combine Yahoo! Search and rich news content from Yahoo!'s celebrity and entertainment news site, OMG!, to recognize the top trending web celebs, or those who have propelled to stardom in cyberspace and used the power of the Internet to reach their fans.

The awards night was hosted by JM Rodriguez and Andi Manzano.

Below is the full list of winners.

Major Impact Personality of the Year: Shamcey Supsup

Celebrity of the Year: Shalani Soledad

Hottest Actor: Piolo Pascual

Hottest Actress: Jennylyn Mercado

Breakthrough Male Artist: Coco Martin

Breakthrough Female Artist: Cristine Reyes

Funniest Comedian: Vice Ganda

Funniest Comedienne: Eugene Domingo

Awesome Young Actor: Albie Casino

Awesome Young Actress: Kathryn Bernardo

Amazing Male Newcomer: Alden Richards

Amazing Female Newcomer: Ritz Azul

Favorite Male TV Host: Luis Manzano

Favorite Female TV Host: Toni Gonzaga

Coolest Male Singer: Christian Bautista

Coolest Female Singer: Charice

Coolest Band: Parokya ni Edgar

Fashion Designer of the Year: Joey Samson