John Lloyd gets 2 best actor noms from Gawad Urian


Posted at May 17 2016 05:58 PM | Updated as of Aug 07 2017 01:40 PM

John Lloyd gets 2 best actor noms from Gawad Urian 1
John Lloyd Cruz in "Honor Thy Father"

MANILA -- John Lloyd Cruz received two best actor nominations at this year's Gawad Urian Awards for his performances in the Star Cinema movie "A Second Chance" and the indie film "Honor Thy Father."

The nominees for the 39th Gawad Urian Awards were announced on Tuesday.

Cruz will be competing with Metro Manila Film Festival best actor winner Jericho Rosales for "Walang Forever", John Arcilla for "Heneral Luna," Ricky Davao for "Dayang Asu," Dennis Trillo for "Felix Manalo," Sid Lucero for "Apocalypse Child," Jun Jun Quintana for "Water Lemon," Luis Alandy for "Anino Sa Likod ng Buwan," Anthony Falcon for "Anino Sa Likod ng Buwan," Francisco Guinto for "Ari: My Life With A King" and Lou Veloso for "Da Dog Show."

Apart from best actor, "Honor Thy Father" won a total of nine nominations, including nods for best picture, best director for Erik Matti and best supporting actor for Tirso Cruz III.

The surprise box-office hit "Heneral Luna" also got nine nominations, including best picture and multiple nods for director Jerrold Tarog.

Also competing for best picture are "Taklub," "Anino Sa Likod ng Buwan," "Imbisibol," "Ari: My Life With A King," "Bambanti" and "Da Dog Show."

Meanwhile, veteran actress Nora Aunor leads the best actress nominees for her performance in "Taklub." She will be competing with Anika Dolonius for "Apocalypse Child," LJ Reyes for "Anino Sa Likod ng Buwan," Angeli Bayani for "Iisa," Alessandra de Rossi for "Bambanti," Ces Quesada for "Imbisibol," Jennylyn Mercado and "Walang Forever" and Mercedes Cabral "Da Dog Show."

The awards night will be held on June 21 at the Kia Theater and will be aired live on Cinema One.

Below is the complete list of nominees in various categories.

Best Picture

Heneral Luna
Anino Sa Likod ng Buwan
Honor Thy Father
Ari: My Life With A King
Da Dog Show

Best Direction

Ralston Jover (Da Dog Show)
Jerrold Tarog (Heneral Luna)
Brilliante Mendoza (Taklub)
Jun Lana (Anino Sa Likod Ng Buwan)
Erik Matti (Honor Thy Father)
Lawrence Fajardo (Imbisibol)
Carlos Enciso Catu (Ari: My Life With A King)
Zig Madamba Dulay (Bambanti)
Mario Cornejo (Apocalypse Child)
Kidlat Tahimik (Balikbayan #1: Memories of Overdevelopment Redux III)

Best Actor

John Arcilla (Heneral Luna)
John Lloyd Cruz (Honor Thy Father)
John Lloyd Cruz (A Second Chance)
Ricky Davao (Dayang Asu)
Jericho Rosales (Walang Forever)
Dennis Trillo (Felix Manalo)
Sid Lucero (Apocalypse Child)
Jun Jun Quintana (Water Lemon)
Luis Alandy (Anino Sa Likod ng Buwan)
Anthony Falcon (Anino Sa Likod ng Buwan)
Francisco Guinto (Ari: My Life With A King)
Lou Veloso (Da Dog Show).

Best Actress

Nora Aunor (Taklub)
Anika Dolonius (Apocalypse Child)
LJ Reyes (Anino Sa Likod ng Buwan)
Angeli Bayani (Iisa)
Alessandra de Rossi (Bambanti)
Ces Quesada (Imbisibol)
Jennylyn Mercado (Walang Forever)
Mercedes Cabral (Da Dog Show)

Best Supporting Actor

Julio Diaz (Taklub)
Lou Veloso (Taklub)
Tirso Cruz III (Honor Thy Father)
JM de Guzman (Imbisibol)
Bernardo Bernardo (Imbisibol)
Micko Laurente (Bambanti)
RK Bagatsing (Apocalypse Child)
Alion Ibañez (Da Dog Show)

Best Supporting Actress

Rio Locsin (Iisa)
Anna Abad Santos (Apocalypse Child)
Gwen Zamora (Apocalypse Child)
Mylene Dizon (Heneral Luna)
Tessie Tomas (Water Lemon)
Liza Diño (Toto)
Cecil Yumol (Ari: My Life With A King)

Best Screenplay

Ralston Jover, sans cinema, Germany & Queen B Production (Da Dog Show)
Henry Francia, E.A. Rocha and Jerrold Tarog (Heneral Luna)
Honeylyn Joy Alipio (Taklub)
Jun Lana (Anino Sa Likod ng Buwan)
Michiko Yamamoto (Honor Thy Father)
Herlyn Gail Alegre and John Paul Bedia (Imbisibol)
Robby Tantingco (Ari: My Life With A King)
Lilit Reyes (Water Lemon)
Bor Ocampo (Dayang Asu)
Zig Madamba Dulay (Bambanti)

Best Cinematography

Carlo Mendoza (Da Dog Show)
Pong Ignacio (Heneral Luna)
Odyssey Flores (Taklub)
Carlo Mendoza (Anino Sa Likod ng Buwan)
Ber Cruz (Honor Thy Father)
Ike Avellana (Apocalypse Child)
Joseph Delos Reyes and Ma. Solita Garcia (Bambanti)
Rody Lacap (Felix Manalo)

Best Production Design

Deans Habal (Da Dog Show)
Gian Gianan (Bambanti)
Ben Payumo (Water Lemon)
Ericson Navarro (Honor Thy Father)
Joel Bilbao, Edgar Martin Littaua and Danny Red (Felix Manalo)
Harley Alcasid (Bukod Kang Pinagpala)
Lawrence Fajardo and Roland Inocencio (Imbisibol )

Best Editing

Jerrold Tarog (Heneral Luna)
Diego Marx Dobles (Taklub)
Lawrence Ang (Anino Sa Likod ng Buwan)
Jay Halili (Honor Thy Father)
Lawrence Fajardo (Imbisibol)
Carlo Francisco Manatad (Ari: My Life With A King)
Kat Serraon (Da Dog Show)

Best Music

Alessandra de Rossi (Water Lemon)
Jerrold Tarog (Heneral Luna)
Diwa de Leon (Taklub)
Erwin Romulo (Honor Thy Father)
Jake Abella (Ari: My Life With A King)

Best Sound

Mikko Quizon (Heneral Luna)
Paulito Homillano, Andrew Milallos, Dennis Payumo, Addiss Tabong (Taklub)
Albert Michael Idioma (Anino Sa Likod Ng Buwan)
Mikko Quizon (Honor Thy Father)
Stephen Lopez and Sheka Ong (Dayang Asu)
Albert Michael Idioma (Felix Manalo)
Gilbert Obispo (Ari: My Life With A King)
Mark Locsin (Da Dog Show)

Natatanging Gawad Urian

Romy Vitug