Vilma Santos to be honored at 7th Golden Screen Awards

by Boy Villasanta,

Posted at May 05 2010 03:44 PM | Updated as of May 05 2010 11:48 PM

MANILA, Philippines - By virtue of her illustrious string of performances on screen, re-electionist Batangas Gov. Vilma Santos will be feted with the Lino Brocka Lifetime Achievement Award at the Entertainment Press Society, Inc.’s (Enpress) 7th Golden Screen Awards at Teatrino in Greenhills Wednesday night.

If Santos wins the Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role (Drama) award for Star Cinema’s “In My Life,” it would be a double whammy treat for the Star for all Seasons.

According to some members of the group, Santos has signified her intention to grace the event because she considers the movie press her lifetime friends in the film industry.

The actress was conspicuously absent during the 33rd Gawad Urian of the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino held at the University of the Philippines Film Institute Cine Adarna last week even if she was nominated in the Pinakamahusay na Pangunahing Aktres category for “In My Life.”

Comedian Ogie Alcasid will emcee the affair which has “Pelikula at Politika” as motif to pay tribute to all entertainment personalities who are running in public office in this year’s elections.

Arnell Ignacio, a Quezon City council candidate, will be part of the program.

Singer and former child star Aiza Seguerra will sing the opening number while other nominated theme songs of the movies will be interpreted by Faith Cuneta, Gerald Santos, PJ Valerio, Myrus, Zoe Sandejas and the Voiz Boys composed of Jay R Siaboc, Tom Rodriguez, Nico Antonio and Guji Lorenzana.

A stiff fight is expected among films “Dukot,” “Engkwentro,” “In My Life,” “Kinatay (The Execution of P),” “Lola” and “Sagrada Familia” for Best Motion Picture (Drama); while “Ded Na Si Lolo,” “Last Supper No. 3,” “Kimmy Dora: Kambal sa Kiyeme” and “You Changed My Life” vie for Best Motion Picture (Musical or Comedy).

The Best Director plum is being contested by Pepe Diokno (“Engkwentro”), Cathy Garcia Molina (“You Changed My Life”), Joel Lamangan (“Dukot”), Olivia Lamasan (“In My Life”), Brillante Mendoza (“Kinatay (The Execution of P)” and “Lola”), and Soxie Topacio (“Ded na Si Lolo”).

Meanwhile, Santos slugs it out with Bea Alonzo (“And I Love You So”), Iza Calzado (“Dukot”), Rustica Carpio (“Lola”), Sharon Cuneta (“Mano Po 6: A Mother’s Love”), Anita Linda (“Lola”), Lovi Poe (“Sagrada Familia”) and Snooky Serna (“Sagrada Familia”).

For the Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role (Musical or Comedy), the contest is among Gina Alajar (“Ded Na Si Lolo”), Eugene Domingo (“Kimmy Dora: Kambal sa Kiyeme”), Sarah Geronimo (“You Changed My Life”) and Elizabeth Oropesa (“Ded Na Si Lolo”).

The award for Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role (Drama) is being competed by John Lloyd Cruz (“In My Life”), Allen Dizon (“Dukot”), Emilio Garcia (“Sagrada Familia”), Coco Martin (“Kinatay (The Execution of P),” Sam Milby (“And I Love You So”), Felix Roco (“Engkwentro”), Alfred Vargas (“Colorum”) and Lou Veloso, Jr. (“Colorum”).

The Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role (Musical or Comedy) award is a contest among John Lloyd Cruz (“You Changed My Life”), Joey Paras (“Last Supper No. 3”) and Roderick Paulate (“Ded Na Si Lolo”).

For the Breakthrough Performance by an Actor, it is a toss among Desamparado (“Engkwentro”, Daniel Medrana (“Engkwentro”, Romalito Mallari (“inig Sana Kita” and Chase Vega (“Agaton and Mindy”).