Mentors become fans at the 12th Pasado Awards

by Boy Villasanta,

Posted at Apr 25 2010 04:22 PM | Updated as of Apr 26 2010 12:56 AM

MANILA, Philippines - When Roderick Paulate was proclaimed Best Supporting Actor at the 12th Pampelikulang Samahan ng mga Dalubguro (Pasado) for the film “Ded na si Lolo” at the Quezon City Sports Club Friday evening, he began his acceptance speech by poking fun at the teachers as award-givers.

“During our school days, our teachers would tell us unruly students, ‘Class, keep quiet!’ Now, I would say, ‘Teachers, keep quiet!’” he said in jest.

The banter naturally elicited laughter and noise to an already rowdy crowd of spectators, most of them teachers, students, fans and bystanders, as they pushed around and pulled over to get a glimpse or a photo-op of the late arrival of Enchong Dee and the scene stealing entrance of screen sweethearts John Lloyd Cruz and Bea Alonzo.

The audience was very restless trying to catch a handshake and a kiss from the stars.

Emcees Pil Garcia and Rosie de Ocera, both college professors, tried to pacify their colleagues as soon as they called on Dee anew and conferred him the Dangal ng Kabataan Award.

It was like fans day for the mentors of the youth.

Absentee Karylle won the Female Dangal ng Kabataan Award but she was patched on the phone from a shoot. Karylle was very apologetic but was thankful for her plum.

Alonzo and Janice de Belen tied for Pinakapasadong Aktres for the Star Cinema’s “And I Love You So” and Davis Entertainment’s “Last Viewing.”

Cruz brought home the bacon for Pinakapasadong Aktor for Star Cinema’s “In My Life.”

Meanwhile, Paulate shared the Pinakapasadong Katuwang na Aktor honors with Derek Ramsey for Star Cinema’s “I Love You Goodbye.”

In her absence, sisters Lotlot and Matet de Leon received the Pinakapasadong Dakilang Artista ng Bayan award for their mom Nora Aunor.

“Alam po ba ninyo na ang pangarap talaga ng Mommy (Nora Aunor) namin ay maging titser pero siya ay naging artista at mang-aawit. Naniniwala po si Mommy na malaki ang papel na ginagampanan ng mga guro sa pag-unlad ng ating bayan,” read Matet in her prepared speech.

Child actress Mika de la Cruz won the Pinakapasadong Katuwang na Aktres for Star Cinema’s “T2,” while veteran actress Gloria Romero was given the Lifetime Achievement Award and was teary-eyed.

“You know what, I have received not a few awards of this nature but each time I receive one, I feel it is the first time. I always feel happy and being 76 is an occasion I should say I really deserve this award,” Romero said.

Pasado is an organization of teachers in various schools all over the land that believes in the power of film to educate and transform society.

Other Pasado winners:

Pinakapasadong Pelikula—three (3) winners: Davis Entertainment’s “Last Viewing” APT Entertainment’s “Ded na si Lolo” and Star Cinema’s “And I Love You So.”
Pinakapasadong Istorya—Romualdo Avellonosa and Ronaldo Bertubin’s “Last Viewing”
Pinakapasadong Direktor—Ronaldo Bertubin (“Last Viewing”)
Pinakapasadong Sinematograpiya—Gary Gardoce (“And I Love You So”)
Pinakapasadong Editing—Manet Dayrit (“T2”)
Pinakapasadong Musika—Von de Guzman (“Mano Po 6”)
Pinakapasadong Tunog—Albert Michael Idioma (“T2”)
Pinakapasadong Pelikula sa Paggamit ng Wika—“Mano Po 6”
Pinakapasadong Guro—Prof. Tecthie Agbayani
Pinakapasadong Bituin (Pasado Lifetime Award)— Gloria Romero
Dangal ng Pasado (Pasado Lifetime Award)—Diether Ocampo (Organizer of K.I.D.S. Foundation)
Pasadong Simbulo sa Kagandahang Asal—Zaijin Jaranilla (“Santino”)