LIST: Cinema One Originals filmfest unveils 2017 finalists


Posted at Apr 22 2017 02:59 AM

LIST: Cinema One Originals filmfest unveils 2017 finalists 1
Giancarlo Abrahan, Shireen Seno, and Rae Red are 3 of the directors picked to compete at this year's Cinema One Originals Film Festival. ABS-CBN

MANILA - The seven finalists for the 2017 Cinema One Originals Film Festival have been unveiled. 

According to Cinema One, the selected finalists were able to "deliver fresh stories with poignant, hilarious and extraordinary accounts that will touch the lives of more diverse audiences." 

The finalists are:

  • "Nay" by director Kip Oebanda
  • "Nervous Translation" by director Shireen Seno
  • "Throwback Thursday" by director Joseph Teoxon and writer Pertee Brinas
  • "Changing Partners" by director Dan Villegas
  • "Historiographika Errata" by director Richard Somes
  • "Paki" by director Giancarlo Abrahan
  • "Si Chedeng, Si Apple, Si Louis Vuitton" by directors Fatrick Tabada and Rae Red 

The finalists were picked by the selection committee composed of Ronald Arguelles (festival director), Philbert Dy, Rico Gonzales, Oggs Cruz, Jinky Laurel, Kathleen Pador, Richard Bolisay, Sherad Anthony Sanchez, and Jade Castro.

Each of these finalists will receive a grant of P3 million to produce their movie and compete in the festival to be held in November. 

A seperate category for documentary films were also announced, and it included the following: "Horror House" by Phyllis Grande; "Bundok Banahaw" by Dempster Samarista"; and "Architecture of Belief" by Jet Leyco and Camille Aragona.