'Showbiz Inside Report' hosts sad to see Joey leave


Posted at Mar 27 2013 02:02 PM | Updated as of Mar 27 2013 10:02 PM

Television host and actor Joey Marquez

MANILA, Philippines – The hosts of “Showbiz Inside Report” (SIR) have mixed emotions over the decision of Joey Marquez to leave the Kapamilya talk show last week.

The former "Palibhasa Lalake" star joined "SIR" as co-host, along with Carmina Villaroel, Janice de Belen and Ogie Diaz, in February 2012.

In an interview with ABS-CBN News, de Belen said she knew this was going to happen but there was nothing they can do to stop Marquez.

“Sad kami since nung time na malaman namin na this is going to happen. Sinasamantala namin ang time with him. We are really sad kasi it’s a good team eh,” she said.

De Belen said it is very rare to find a good mix of people who work together well for a program to click.

“[Nung nandiyan siya, may] balance of opinions. Siya 'yung male point of view kasi ang mga babae iba iyan eh, emotional. Si Manong Joey, siya ang logical,” she said.

Villaroel, meantime, said she is happy for Marquez, who is putting the interest of other people ahead of his own.

“Nalulungkot man kami na iiwan na niya tayo dito, happy ako for him kasi alam ko na iyon talaga ang dream niya eh. Alam mo na he’s really a servant eh, napakabait na tao. We feel lucky and blessed na nakatrabaho namin siya. Genuine ang kabaitan niya at napakamabuti,” she said.

Diaz, for his part, said: “Siyempre medyo maninibago kami dahil tatlo lang kami or kung may madadagdag man, kailangan namin mag-adjust kasi hindi namin alam kung gaano kahaba ang pasensya ng magiging next host.”

Marquez bid farewell to the ABS-CBN program during its March 23 episode, a week before the start of the official campaign period for candidates in the May mid-term polls.

Marquez is running for a congressional seat representing the second district of Paranaque.

He first served in political office as vice-mayor of Paranaque City from 1992 to 1995. He then had three terms as mayor in the same city until 2004.