Pro-indie film members removed from MMFF execom

Mario Dumaual, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Mar 09 2017 03:09 AM

MANILA - The Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) executive committee has been revamped following the film fest's lackluster box-office performance last year.

Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA) Chairman Tim Orbos announced the appointment of new members for MMFF 2017's executive committee.

Pro-indie members Moira Lang and Ed Cabangot were removed, and theater chain representatives were included in a bid to balance the interests of theater owners and movie producers with artistic demands and audience preference.

While saddened by his exit, Cabangot said he will continue to be active in pushing for quality movies and vowed to ensure that last year's changes will not be ignored.

"I am supremely grateful and honored to have been part of the change edition of this yearly celebration of Pinoy artistic excellence in cinema," Cabangot said.

"Moira (Lang) and myself shall continue to monitor the evolution of the festival from the outside and make sure that this year's edition shall build on last year's revolutionary changes," he added.

Among the new appointees to the film fest executive committee were Batangas Rep. Vilma Santos, Senator Grace Poe, and Movie and Television Review and Classification Board (MTRCB) Chair Rachel Arenas.

Also apponted were Taguig City Mayor Lani Cayetano representing the Metro Manila mayors; Police Director Oscar Albayalde, chief of NCRPO; Liza Diño, head of the Film Development Council of the Philippines; Wilson Tieng, president of the Movie Producers and Distributors Association of the Philippines; Jun Romana of the Bureau of Broadcast Services; Jesse Ejercito of the Philippine Motion Picture Producers Association; Marichu Maceda, chair of Mowelfund; actress Boots Anson-Rodrigo; film distributor Victor Villegas; movie directors Jose Romero IV and Mel Chionglo; Rolando Tolentino, professor at UP College of Mass Communication; Ed Lejano, executive director of the Quezon City Film Development Commission; scriptwriter Ricky Lee; journalist and documentary producer Kara Magsanoc-Alikpala; professor and multimedia practitioner Noel Ferrer; and lawyer Anselmo Adriano, chairman of the Optical Media Board.

Completing the roster of executive committee members were Edgar Tejerero, president of SM Lifestyle Inc.; lawyer Rolando Duenas, assistant general manager of the Ayala Cinemas; Christina Caparas, general manager of Vista Mall Cinemas; and Evylene Advincula, operations manager of Robinsons Movieworld.