Sarah G, Nora Aunor honored with Ani ng Dangal


Posted at Mar 09 2013 01:15 AM | Updated as of Mar 09 2013 09:15 AM

MANILA, Philippines -- Sarah Geronimo and Nora Aunor were among the artists honored by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) with the Ani ng Dangal award on Friday.

Held this year at the Tanghalang Aurelio Tolentino of the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP), the 5th Ani ng Dangal recognized natural-born Filipino artists or groups who have won honors at international competitions or festivals in the preceding year.

The awards night is held annually as the culminating event of the Philippine Arts Festival (PAF).

In the field of cinema, among those given the Ani ng Dangal trophy were Brillante Mendoza, for his film "Thy Womb"; Marlon Rivera, "Ang Babae sa Septic Tank"; Marty Syjuco, "Give Up Tomorrow"; Aunor, for her role in "Thy Womb"; and Shamaine Buencamino, "Niño."

Aunor and Mendoza made headlines last year for reaping multiple awards at various international film festivals for their work in "Thy Womb."

Geronimo, meanwhile, was honored by NCCA under the category Multi-Disciplinary Arts, after she won Best Asian Artist from the Philippines at the 2012 Mnet Asian Music Awards.

ABS-CBN's fantasy anthology "Wansapanataym" also earned an Ani ng Dangal trophy in the field of Multi-Disciplinary Arts, following its Children’s Jury Prize win the prestigious 2012 Prix Jeunesse International Festival in Germany.

Below is the full list of winners at the 5th Ani ng Dangal:

Architecture and Allied Arts

Aidea Philippines, Inc.
Kenneth Cobonpue, “Cabaret Sofa”


Adrian Sibal, “The Rivals”
Auraeus Solito, “Busong”
Brillante Mendoza, “Thy Womb”
Charles Andrew Flamiano , “Letting Go, Letting God”
Christopher Gozum, “Anacbuana”
Eduardo Roy, Jr., “Bahay Bata”
John Paul Su, “Pagpag”
Lav Diaz, “Florentinahubaldo, CTE”
Lawrence Fajardo, “Posas”
Marlon Rivera, “Ang Babae sa Septic Tank”
Brandon Relucio & Ivan Zaldarriaga, “Di Ingon ‘Nato”
Marty Syjuco, “Give Up Tomorrow”
Nora Aunor, “Thy Womb”
Shamaine Buencamino, “Niño”
Will Fredo, “The Caregiver”


Candice Adea
Halili Cruz Dance Company
Irina Feleo (Bayanihan, The National Folk Dance Company of the Philippine)
Peter Laurent Callangan (Bayanihan, The National Folk Dance Company of the Philippine)
The Crew

Dramatic Arts

Peter De Guzman, “The Romance of Magno Rubio”

Literary Arts

Romulo Baquiran, Jr.

Multi-Disciplinary Arts

BBDO Guerrero, Pepsi/MyShelter Foundation’s “Bottle Light” project
Kara David, i-Witness “Alkansya” GMA News TV
Sarah Geronimo, Viva Entertainment, ABS-CBN Corporation
Wansapanataym, “The Chalk Boy” ABS-CBN Corporation


Arwin Tan
Baao Children Chorus
Edgardo “Ed” Lumbera Manguiat
Joseleo Ciballos Logdat
Miriam College High School Glee Club
Muntinlupa Science High School Chorale
Novo Concertante Manila Choir
Samiweng Singers, Ilocos Norte National High School (INNHS)
University of the Philippines Singing Ambassadors
UP Concert Chorus

Visual Arts

Jamille Bianca Aguilar
Joel C. Forte
Zohayma Montañer
Trisha Co Reyes
Engr. Jaime Sumugat Singlador
George Tapan
Jamia Mei Tolentino
Jophel Ybiosa