ABS-CBN dominates 9th USTv Awards


Posted at Mar 07 2013 11:35 PM | Updated as of Mar 08 2013 07:35 AM

MANILA, Philippines -- Several Kapamilya programs and personalities were voted best in their respective fields by students of the University of Sto. Tomas at an annual awarding ceremony Thursday.

ABS-CBN took home majority of the trophies handed out at the 9th USTv Students' Choice Awards, which had the theme “Catholic Year of Faith" this year.

The awards recognize excellence and Christian values in local television programs and personalities. The recipients of the awards are based on students' preferences survey that accounts for Catholic and humanist values.

Winning the top honor as Student Leaders' Choice of TV Personality was actress Angel Locsin, who recently appeared in the Metro Manila Film Festival 2012 Best Picture winner "One More Try."

Another acclaimed Star Cinema film, "The Healing," was given the trophy for Best Local Full-Length Film. Released last year, the Chito Rono-directed horror flick starred Vilma Santos and Kim Chiu.

The top-rating daytime series "Be Careful With My Heart," meanwhile, won two awards -- Best Local Daily Soap Opera and Best Ensemble Performance. Aside from Jodi Sta. Maria and Richard Yap, the cast of the "kilig-serye" include Sylvia Sanchez, Aiza Seguerra, Gloria Sevilla and Divina Valencia.

Voted as Best Foreign Soap Opera is the Korean seres "Dream High," which also aired on ABS-CBN.

The longest-running drama anthology in Asia, "Maalalaala Mo Kaya," was again voted by UST students as Best Drama Program.

The Kapamilya network's Sunday entertainment talk show "The Buzz" took home two trophies, with the program being named Best Entertainment News Program and its host Boy Abunda, Best Entertainment News Program Host.

Another program hosted by Abunda, "The Bottomline," was awarded Best Public Affairs Talk Show Program.

Likewise, the noontime variety program "It's Showtime" was given two awards by students of UST -- Best Variety Show, and Best Variety Show Host for Anne Curtis.

Another Kapamilya host recognized on Thursday was Luis Manzano as Best Game Show Host. His Saturday night program "Kapamilya Deal or No Deal" was also named Best Game Show.

Kris Aquino, dubbed the country's "Queen of All Media," was once again recognized for hosting. She won Best Talk Variety Program Host for her weekday talk show "Kris TV."

ABS-CBN's News and Current Affairs division also won big at the USTv Awards. Among those awarded were: "Matanglawin" (Best Educational Show), "TV Patrol" (Best Local News and Current Affairs Program), Ted Failon (Best Male News and Current Affairs Program), "Ako Ang Simula" (Best Public Service Program), and "Failon Ngayon" (Best Investigative Program).

The Kapamilya socio-civic organization ABS-CBN Foundation, Inc. was also cited as Best Network Foundation at the awards night.

Below is the full list of winners at the 9th USTv Students' Choice Awards:

Student Leaders' Choice of TV Program - "Eat Bulaga" (GMA)
Student Leaders' Choice of TV Personality - Angel Locsin
Best Ensemble Performance - "Be Careful With My Heart" (ABS-CBN)
Best Local Daily Soap Opera - "Be Careful With My Heart" (ABS-CBN)
Best Foreign Soap Opera - "Dream High" (ABS-CBN)
Best Drama Program - "Maalaala Mo Kaya" (ABS-CBN)
Best Entertainment News Program - "The Buzz" (ABS-CBN)
Best Entertainment News Program Host - Boy Abunda, "The Buzz" (ABS-CBN)
Best Variety Show - "It's Showtime" (ABS-CBN)
Best Variety Show Host - Anne Curtis, "It's Showtime" (ABS-CBN)
Best Gag Show - "Bubble Gang" (GMA)
Best Situational Comedy or Sitcom - "Pepito Manaloto" (GMA)
Best Reality Show - "Talentadong Pinoy" (TV5)
Best Game Show - "Kapamilya Or No Deal" (ABS-CBN)
Best Game Show Host - Luis Manzano (ABS-CBN)
Best Talk Variety Program - "Party Pilipinas" (ABS-CBN)
Best Talk Variety Program Host - Kris Aquino, "Kris TV" (ABS-CBN)
Best Educational Show - "Matanglawin" (ABS-CBN)
Best Public Affairs Talk Show Program - "The Bottomline with Boy Abunda" (ABS-CBN)
Best Local News & Current Affairs Program - "TV Patrol" (ABS-CBN)
Best Male News & Current Affairs Program Host - Ted Failon (ABS-CBN)
Best Female News & Current Affairs Program Host - Jessica Soho (GMA)
Best Documentary Program - "i-Witness" (GMA)
Best Magazine Program - "Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho" (GMA)
Best Public Service Program - "Ako Ang Simula" (ABS-CBN)
Best Investigative Program - "Failon Ngayon" (ABS-CBN)
Best Local Music Video - "Minsan" by Callalily
Best Local Music Video Artist - Julie Anne San Jose
Best Sports Personality - Chris Tiu
Best TV Advertisement - Nestle's 100 Years
Best Network Foundation - ABS-CBN Foundation
Best Local Full-Length Film - "The Healing" (Star Cinema / ABS-CBN Film Productions)
Special Citation on Documentary Drama Special - "The Word Exposed - San Pedro Calungsod" (GMA News TV)

ABS-CBNnews.com is the news website of ABS-CBN Corp.