Aiza Seguerra-interpreted song wins P1M


Posted at Feb 25 2013 01:56 AM | Updated as of Feb 25 2013 06:10 PM

MANILA - The song "Anong Nangyari Sa Ating Dalawa," written by Jovinor Tan from Malabon and performed by Aiza Seguerra won first place in the Philippines' biggest multimedia songwriting competition “Himig Handog."

Tan won P1 million for his love song.

The other winners are:

2nd Place: "Hanggang Wakas" by Soc Villanueva from Australia, performed by Juris Fernandez

3rd Place: “If You Ever Change Your Mind” by Marion Aunor from Makati, performed by Marion Aunor

4th Place: “Scared To Death” by Domingo Rosco Jr. from Bohol, performed by KZ Tandingan

5th Place: “Kahit Na” by Julius James de Belen from Quezon City, performed by Toni Gonzaga.

The Fillipino Channel's (TFC) Choice award went to “This Song Is For You” by Jude Gitamondoc from Cebu City, performed by Erik Santos. Overseas Filipinos voted online through

Rising heartthrob Daniel Padilla was the biggest winner in the various listeners' choice awards done by online voting or CD purchases or music video requests.

His interpretation of "Nasa Iyo Na Ang Lahat" by Jungee Marcelo from Pasig City won the following awards:

MOR Listener's Choice: song request
Tambayan 101.9 Listener's Choice: song request
Star Records CD Buyer's Choice: CD purchases 
MYX Choice for Best Video: music video requests/online voting.

“Himig Handog” received a total of 2,500 original compositions from Pinoy songwriters worldwide.

Twelve songs were chosen as “Himig Handog P-Pop Love Songs” finalists. They are:

"Alaala” by Ma. Fe Mechenette Tianga, Melvin Huwervana, and Joel Jabot Jr. from Iloilo;

“Ano’ng Nangyari Sa Ating Dalawa” by Jovinor Tan from Malabon;

“If You Ever Change Your Mind” by Marion Aunor from Makati;

“Hanggang Wakas” by Soc Villanueva from Australia;

“Kahit Na” by Julius James de Belen from Quezon City;

“Nasa Iyo Na Ang Lahat” by Jungee Marcelo from Pasig City;

“One Day” by Agatha Obar Morallos from Baguio City;

“Pwede Bang Ako Na Lang Ulit” by Jeffrey Cifra from Cavite;

“Sana’y Magbalik” by Arman Alferez from Caloocan;

“Scared To Death” by Domingo Rosco Jr. from Bohol;

“Tamang Panahon” by Wynn Andrada from Makati; and,

“This Song Is For You” by Jude Gitamondoc from Cebu City.

Two young songwriter-finalists were given the opportunity to interpret their own compositions: Marion Aunor (“If You Ever Change Your Mind”), and  Wynn Andrada (“Tamang Panahon”).

This year's Himig Handog is part of ABS-CBN's and Star Records' celebration of 60 years of Philippine television.

It had the theme, “Pinoy Pop (P-POP) Love Songs: Mga Awit at Kwento ng Pusong Pilipino," described by ABS-CBN as "a search for those endearing love songs with a distinctly Filipino soul."

The Himig Handog grand finals was held at the Mall Of Asia Arena in Pasay City Sunday night. is the news website of ABS-CBN Corp.