'Voice PH' coaches barred from voting 50-50


Posted at Feb 23 2015 06:46 PM | Updated as of Feb 24 2015 02:46 AM

'The Voice of the Philippines' coach Lea Salonga. ABS-CBN

MANILA - Broadway star Lea Salonga revealed that she and her fellow coaches on "The Voice of the Philippines" were not allowed by the program to give equal points to their last two standing artists.

On Sunday, the eight semifinalists were cut to four after the coaches split 100 points between their respective bets, which were then combined with the public votes for the final scores.

Team Lea will be represented in the grand finals by Leah Patricio, whom the coach voted in favor of, 55-45, over fan favorite Timmy Pavino. The results revealed that Pavino got a higher score from the viewers, but Salonga's decision weighed enough for Patricio to advance.

Hours after the live episode, Salonga answered on Twitter fans who expressed disappointment over her decision. She corrected a few who commented that Sunday's results show was a case of history repeating itself, referring to Season 1 winner Mitoy Yonting getting into the finals because he was favored by Salonga.

"Check your facts. I scored in favor of Radha last season. The public vote was overwhelmingly in favor of Mitoy," Salonga said, adding in another tweet that she scored her past bets 55-45.

The "Miss Saigon" actress added: "I can't make everyone happy. I needed to stand by my gut and score it based on 2 days."

Salonga's fellow coaches -- Sarah Geronimo, Bamboo and apl.de.ap -- similarly split points between their artists, 55-45, during the Sunday results show. Unlike in the past season, no one gave equal scores.

"We are not allowed to use 50-50," Salonga revealed in another tweet. "Last season pa [sinabi] na sa amin na di puwede."

Answering whether they could have voted 51-49, Salonga said, "We're not allowed to do that either."

This weekend, the last four artists -- Patricio, Team Sarah's Jason Dy, Team Bamboo's Rence Rapanot and Team Apl's Alisah Bonaobra -- will face off for the last time before one of them is named the second "The Voice of the Philippines" champion.