ABS-CBN takes home 23 'Innovative' awards


Posted at Jan 08 2018 11:06 PM

Kapamilya network recognized as 'Most Innovative'

MANILA - Personalities and programs of the Kapamilya network took home Monday night over 20 awards for their innovation, as voted by students of Global City Innovative College.

'SOCO' host and broadcast journalist Gus Abelgas personally received the award for the program. ABS-CBN

The 3rd Illumine Innovation Awards for Television, held in Makati City, recognized as several ABS-CBN news and current affairs programs as the "most innovative" in their respective categories.

These include "TV Patrol" (news program), "Umagang Kay Ganda" (morning), "Matanglawin" (educational), and "SOCO" (investigative).

'Matanglawin' host Kim Atienza personally received the award for the program. ABS-CBN

Numerous entertainment shows also clinched trophies, such as "It's Showtime" (noontime), "Ang Probinsyano" (primetime) "ASAP" (Sunday noon), "Magandang Buhay" (talk show), "I Can See Your Voice" (game show), "Maalala Mo Kaya" (drama), "Wansapanataym" (fantasy), and "Gandang Gabi Vice" (late-night program).

Hosts of 'It's Showtime' thank Global City Innovation College for their award in a video message. ABS-CBN

Kapamilya celebrities given the "Most Innovative" tag include Enrique Gil and Liza Soberano (love team), Vice Ganda (comedian), Angelica Panganiban (comedienne), Aura Briguela (child star), Billy Crawford (male host), Anne Curtis (female host), Vice Ganda (fashion icon), and Yeng Constantino (singer).

The Illumine Awards also conferred the top prize to ABS-CBN as the "Most Innovative" TV network for the year.