Aquino names new Pag-IBIG, LRTA execs


Posted at Oct 10 2010 02:37 PM | Updated as of Oct 11 2010 12:21 AM

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATE) - President Benigno Aquino III has appointed new officials of the Home Development Mutual Fund (Pag-IBIG) and the Light Rail Transit Authority (LRTA).

Darlene Berberabe is Pag-IBIG’s new chief executive officer while Edgardo Lacson, Jesus Varela, Jaime Miralles, Raul de Mesa, and Benjie Martinez will serve as board members, according to a Palace press statement.

The President also appointed Ofelia Sta. Maria as LRTA deputy administrator.

Deputy Presidential spokesperson Abigail Valte announced the appointments in an interview with Radyo ng Bayan on Saturday.

Palace appointees in other agencies were revealed by Valte over the state-owned radio station Sunday. 

They are:

  • Joseph Peter Sison, president of National Home Mortgage Finance Corp.,
  • Grace Poe Llamanzares, Movie and Television Review and Classification Board (MTRCB) chairperson (see related story), 
  • Emmanuel Borlaza, MTRCB vice-chair, 
  • Jose Martin Luis  "Chito" Gascon, Bases Conversion and Development Authority board member,  
  • Nestor Palabyab, Philippine Trade Training Center deputy executive director

According to Malacañang, Lacson is the chairman and co-founder of AWARE, a foundation that provides free pre-departure orientation seminars to Filipino overseas workers. 

He is also president of the Employers’ Confederation of the Philippines and immediate past president of the Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry. 

Lacson is a member of the Philippine technical committee of Nippon Kaiji Kyokai, an accredited organization of the International Class Societies. 

Martinez, meanwhile, is said to be a top aide of Vice-President Jejomar Binay.

Berberabe finished Bachelor of Arts summa cum laude at the University of the Philippines (UP) in 1989 and finished law school as salutatorian also at UP in 1999.

She is an associate lawyer of the Quisumbing Torres (Baker & Mckenzie) Law office; professor of the Department of Philosophy, UP Diliman; speaker, Conference on Election Law in Batangas, 2001; speaker, Franchising and the Law, UP Institute for Small Scale Industries, 2000. 

She authored the Retail Trade Liberalization, Asia Pacific Legal Bulletin, 2000; and penned Divine Command Theory as a masteral thesis in 1995.