Siargao pays tribute to its surfing godfather 2
The 21st National Siargao Surfing Cup is a stop in the Philippine Surfing Championship Tour. Photograph by John Vincent Camingue

Siargao pays tribute to its surfing godfather

At the 21st National Siargao Surfing Cup, the community celebrated the legacy of one of its most ardent supporters, Mayor Jaime Rusillon.
ANCX | Oct 17 2019

When Siargao Mayor Jaime P. Rusillon passed away last April, the surfing community mourned. As one of its biggest supporters, he is considered one of the godfathers of the sport in the country—along with his wife and now acting Mayor Cecilia Rusillon. It is through the couple’s efforts that made Siargao a surf paradise known worldwide.

It is to his legacy that the recently held 21st National Siargao Surfing Cup—a stop in the Philippine Surfing Championship Tour—paid tribute to. At the competition’s awarding ceremony held in the Boulevard in General Luna, Mayor Rusillon called on stage the members of the Philippine Surfing Team to congratulate and recognize them on their recent trip to Japan where they represented our nation in the ISA World Surfing Games. Out of the seven Filipino athletes who competed in Japan, four are from Siargao: Edito “Piso” Alcala, Eduardo Alciso, John Mark Tokong, and Ana Mae Alipayo.

More on stories in sports:


Promoting the sport

The Philippine Surfing Championship Tour (PSCT) is the sport’s competition series in the country, where top surfers compete in multiple locations, vying for a spot in the national surfing team.

Already on its third year, the PSCT celebrates everyone in the community, from the surfers to the fans, and its dedicated partners. The PSCT exists to set the stage and act as a platform for professional surfing in the Philippines, and promote Filipino surfers as globally competitive athletes.

PSCT judges also handed high performance award to two surfers who have shown an outstanding improvement and commitment throughout the entire leg. The awards were presented by Maui and Sons to Daniel Nogalo, from the Juniors Division, and to Kent Brian Solloso from Men’s Open. 

Siargao pays tribute to its surfing godfather 3
Phillipine Team with Mayor Cecilia Rusillon. Photograph by John Vincent Camingue

The 21st Siargao National Surfing Cup is hosted by the Municipal Government of General Luna and proudly supported by Vans Philippines. The brand is a heavy supporter of the action sports lifestyle, youth culture and creative self-expression through the support of athletes, musicians and artists and through progressive events and platforms such as the Single and Unattached, Aurora Surfing Challenge, Bicol Surf Jam, Zambapalooza, Southswell, Catanduanes Surf break, Cloud 9 Masters Short Board Open, Lanuza Surf Competition, Archipelago Surf Film, and in various surf destinations in the Philippines since 2012.

The PSCT is also supported by the Philippine Sports Commission, the Province of Surigao del Norte, Maui and Sons, Congressman Matugas and with sponsors Gwapitos, Cebu Pacific, Kermit Siargao, House of Representatives, ABS-CBN Sports and Action, CNN Philippines, Kudo Surf, Fat Lips Surf Shop, ANCx, Be Siargao Magazine, Harana Surf Resort, Metro Channel, Inq Pop, Binggo Ride, Olas Banditos, Seawadeeka, Siargao Corner Cafe, Siargao Wakepark, My Life on Board, Beach Hut, SOS Gym, Shaka Cafes, Fluidsurf, Zicatela, Siargao Pay, Cantilan Bank, Greenhouse Siargao, Fili Beans Espresso, DWIZ, Pacific Cross, PAGCOR, Siargao Island Surfing Association, SEA Movement, Vissla, Loose Keys Moto Culture, Barangay Catangnan and Heineken. 


The tour is currently in Samar for its next leg, which is from the 15th until the 21st of October. For more information, visit @psctour on Facebook and Instagram.