Nalbandian apologizes for kicking line judge

Posted at Jun 18 2012 02:42 PM | Updated as of Apr 03 2018 12:04 PM

Watch also in iWantv or

MANILA, Philippines – Argentina’s David Nalbandian apologized for injuring a line judge during the Queen’s Club final.

Nalbandian was leading 7-6, 3-3 against Croatia’s Marlin Cilic, when he dropped serve in the seventh game and reacted by slamming his right foot into an advertising board.

The board splintered and cut into official Andrew McDougall’s left leg.

The shocked McDougall instantly winced and clutched his leg. He was eventually escorted off the ground to the Club’s medical center.

ATP supervisor Tom Barnes defaulted the Argentine and awarded the victory to Cilic.

Nalbandian, a Wimbledon finalist in 2002, felt he had been harshly punished but agreed he made a mistake. Mornings @ ANC, June 18, 2012.