2 Pinoys among Top 10 in World Memory tilt


Posted at Dec 19 2012 07:13 PM | Updated as of Dec 20 2012 03:13 AM

LONDON, United Kingdom – Filipino memory athletes Erwin Balines and Mark Anthony Castaneda breached the world’s top 10 after the 21st World Memory Championship here.

Balines and Castaneda tallied 4779 and 4703 points, respectively, to end up ninth to 10th placers in the recently concluded memory competition.

Johannes Mallow of Germany amassed 8413 points to take the gold, while compatriot Simon Reinhard got the silver with 8344 points.

Jonas von Essen of Sweden wound up third for bronze with 6692 points.

The 24-year-old Balines memorized 16 deck of cards in an hour to clinch his third grandmaster (GM) norm, becoming the second Filipino to earn a status of GM of Memory.

Castaneda, the first Filipino GM of Memory, memorized 193 numbers to win the individual gold medal in the Spoken Random Numbers event.

Other Pinoy memory athletes

Christopher Carandang, meanwhile, got his first GM norm after memorizing 1,000 digit numbers in an hour.

Carandang finished at 24th place with 2530 points, while Roberto Racasa also got his first GM by memorizing 10 deck of cards in Hour Cards. Racasa settled overall 30th place with 2391 points.

Other members in the group were No. 33 Anne Bernadette Bonita (2093 points), No. 41 Axelyancy Cowan Tabernilla (1721 points) and No. 44 Cristine “Eon” Barao (1398 points).

Meanwhile, 11-year-old whiz kid Jamyla Domingo Lambunao won two golds, three silvers and two bronzes in the Kids Category, 12 and under events.

Lambunao finished second overall in the 12 and under events with 2277 points behind topnotcher Dong Xun of China (2828 points). Anne Reulke and Jakob Krautloher of Germany landed at third and fourth place with 2249 and 1852 points, in order.

In the junior division (13 to 17 years old), Princess Grace Mendoza of Antipolo City ended up at seventh place (1579 points), while Ian Roi Spencer Betiong and Blessie Mae Ayalde landed at eighth to ninth place.

Konstantin Skudler of Germany won the gold medal (3667 points), while Saswat Satapathy (3495 points) and Sri Vyshnavi Yarlagadda (3040 points) of India took silver and bronze medal. -- By Marlon Bernardino