Singaporean, Malaysian bag WC bowl titles

The Philippine Star

Posted at Dec 03 2012 09:50 AM | Updated as of Dec 03 2012 05:50 PM

MANILA, Philippines - Two Southeast Asian bowlers – Shayna Ng of Singapore and Syafiq Rhidwan Abdul Malek of Malaysia – crowned themselves the 2012 Bowling World Cup women’s and men’s champions, respectively, at the Sky Bowling Centre in Wroclaw, Poland Saturday.

Ng beat England’s Kirsten Penny 2-0 (246-215 and 221-191) in the semifinals, and then defeated two-time titlist Aumi Guerra of Dominican Republic 2-1 (224-269, 267-259, 247-169) in the finals to become the first World Cup winner from Singapore.

Syafiq likewise gave Malaysia its first BWC title by subduing American Marshall Kent 2-0 (236-225, 237-221) after knocking out Colombia’s Andres Gomez 2-1 (234-236, 224-201, 258-213) in the first stepladder match.

Ng’s 738 series is a new record, surpassing the 737 set by the Philippines’ Liza del Rosario in 2001.