Ateneo collides against De La Salle in UAAP volleyball


Posted at Dec 02 2011 05:15 PM | Updated as of Dec 03 2011 07:16 AM

Games on Saturday (December 3)
The Arena
8 a.m.—De La Salle vs UST (men)
9:30 a.m.—Ateneo vs NU (men)
1 p.m.—UP vs FEU (women)
2:30 p.m.—Ateneo vs De La Salle (women)

MANILA, Philippines – Favorites Ateneo de Manila University (AdMU) and defending champion De La Salle University (DLSU) clash in an expectedly explosive early first-round eliminations in UAAP Season 74 women’s volleyball on Saturday at the Arena in San Juan.

It will practically be the Lady Eagles’ first acid test of the season where they currently lead with a 2-0 win-loss card.

For the Lady Archers, the match—set for 2:30 p.m.—would determine if they are geared up to defend the crown.

The other women’s match pits University of the Philippines (UP) against Far Eastern University (FEU) at 1 p.m., while in the men’s, it will be DLSU against UST at 8 a.m. and AdMU against National University (NU) at 9:30 a.m.

The Lady Eagles has beaten early in the season 14-time champion University of Santo Tomas (UST) and University of the East (UE) with relative satisfaction, while the Lady Archers teetered a bit before subduing the Adamson Lady Falcons.

“Excited na kaming lahat (against La Salle). One big fight talaga. We will do everything para manalo kami,” said Lady Eagles team captain Fille Cainglet.

Besides Cainglet, the Lady Archers should also be wary of Alyssa Valdez and Dzi Gervacio, as well as Gretchen Ho and Alysse Nacachi, who have been delivering the goods for the Katipunan-based team.

De La Salle is hoping to follow up on its 25-20, 25-23, 13-25, 25-22 victory over Adamson, but to do so, they have to limit their errors.

Sophomore playmaker Mika Esparanza is expected to play heads up against the Lady Eagles, who will have reigning two-time Best Setter Jem Ferrer on the floor.

“Yung setter kasi parang driver ng sasakyan, siya ang nagdadala kung saan pupunta yung team,” said De La Salle mentor Ramil De Jesus, who is expected to draw A-games from Michelle Gumabao, Abigail Maraño and Cha Cruz.