Azkals unveil 35-man squad for Suzuki Cup


Posted at Oct 25 2012 05:43 PM | Updated as of Oct 26 2012 10:08 PM

List will be trimmed down to 22

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATE) – The Philippine Azkals have unveiled its 35-man squad for the 2012 Suzuki Cup, which begins late November.

Included in the list are veteran local Emelio “Chieffy” Caligdong, siblings Phil and James Younghusband, and Filipino-Europeans Angel Guirado and Denis Wolf.

Although doubtful to attend the games which will kick off in Bangkok, Thailand on November 24, Filipino-British keeper Neil Etheridge and Filipino-German Stephan Schrock were also included in the lineup.

Etheridge is currently loaned to Bristol Rovers, which will have matches on November 24 and 27 -- the same time the Azkals are scheduled to play against powerhouses Thailand and Vietnam in the Suzuki Cup.

Meanwhile, Schrock, a valuable player for the Azkals because of his versatility, is also expected to suit up for Bundesliga club TSG 1899 Hoffenheim on the Suzuki Cup dates.

The Azkals will likely lean on back up keepers Roland Muller and Eduard Sacapano, in case Etheridge misses the games.

Final roster

The Philippine Football Federation (PFF), meanwhile, said that they will be coming up with a final list of players before the start of the group stage matches for the Cup.

“This list will be trimmed down to 22 players with that list to be submitted at the team manager's meeting on November 23, a day before the group stage matches,” said Richard "Ebong" Joson, head of the PFF Communications Department, in a statement.

Of the final list, 20 names (First 11 and nine substitutes) will be submitted by the coaching staff an hour before each match.

“Should any player from the final 22 be unable to suit up for the 2012 AFF Suzuki Cup (i.e. due to injury or club schedule conflict), the coaching staff can only activate players from the original pool of 35,” said Joson.

The Azkals, who reached the semis of the 2010 edition of the Cup, are aiming to reach the finals now that they boast a team stronger than they had two years ago.

The Philippines is clustered together with Thailand, Vietnam and Myanmar in the Cup’s Group A. -- With a report from The Philippine Star

The Azkals’ 35-man lineup:

1. Angeles, Marvin Janwer
2. Angeles, Marwin Janver
3. Araneta, Ian
4. Bahadoran, Misagh
5. Beloya, Joshua
6. Cagara, Dennis
7. Caligdong, Emelio
8. Christiaens, Jeffrey
9. Cuaresma, Ref Delaney
10. De Jong, Jason Nicolas Maria
11. Etheridge, Neil Leonard
12. Gier, Robert James
13. Gonzales, Andres Crisanto
14. Greatwich, Christopher Robert
15. Guirado, Angel
16. Guirado, Juan Luis
17. Hartmann, Mark Andrew
18. Jonsson, Ray Anthony
19. Lucena, Jerry Ruben
20. Margarse, Nestorio Jr.
21. Martiunez de Murga, Carlos Alberto
22. Moy, Lexton
23. Muller, Roland Richard
24. Mulders, Paul
25. Omphroy, Demitrius Irving
26. Ott, Manuel
27. Porteria, Jose Elmer
28. Reichelt, Patrick
29. Sabio, Jason Abbott
30. Sacapano, Eduard
31. Schrock, Stephan Markus
32. Uy, Matthew Christopher
33. Wolf, Denis
34. Younghusband, James Joseph
35. Younghusband, Philip James