Floirendo nails 2nd top driver title

The Philippine Star

Posted at Oct 16 2012 11:24 AM | Updated as of Oct 16 2012 07:24 PM

MANILA, Philippines - Vincent Floirendo turned back multi-titled Jody Coseteng to cop the Driver of the Year crown for the second straight time in the final of the Yokohama Philippine GT Championship Series at the Clark International Speedway in Pampanga recently.

Coseteng actually ruled the Main GT race but Floirendo, of Flying V Oil-EnSports-KontakOne, sealed a runner-up finish to capture the overall Yokohama GT crown by just two points, 267-265.

Though the Davao native made it a 1-2 finish with teammate Jojo Silverio in the morning’s Sprint race, Coseteng still had a chance to pull off an upset with a victory in the GT Main Race and if Floirendo would finish third.

The reversed grid start of the final leg worked to Coseteng’s advantage as he sneaked in at the innermost left lane to wrest the top spot and later pulled nearly four seconds ahead of his rivals.