UP, La Salle go for UAAP swim crowns today

The Philippine Star

Posted at Sep 27 2012 10:01 AM | Updated as of Sep 27 2012 06:01 PM

MANILA, Philippines - University of the Philippines seeks a fourth straight women’s crown while La Salle goes for back-to-back men’s championship in the UAAP swimming competitions today at the Trace Aquatic Center in Los Baños, Laguna.

The third winningest team in the league with 12 titles, the Lady Maroons amassed 312 points to defeat 2008 champion Ateneo, which placed second with 216 points, and the Lady Archers, who had 159 points in third place last season.

The Green Archers, behind reigning Athlete of the Year Johansen Aguiler, collected 262 points to beat University of Santo Tomas, which placed second with 201 points, and the Blue Eagles, who had 135 points for third.

Veteran tankers Jackie Junio, Bea Grabador, Claire Adorna and Tin Hipol will banner the UP squad in the four-day meet.

But the Lady Maroons will face stiff opposition from the Lady Eagles, bannered by reigning MVP Celina Gonzalez and last year’s top rookie Kim Uy, and the Lady Archers, who will bank on former juniors MVP Ingrid Ilustre and rookie Nikki Bacolod.

Aguilar, a mainstay of Makati Skipjacks, hopes to steer La Salle to a 12th crown, as the Season 74 men’s MVP will also draw support from veteran Tim Yap.

In juniors swimming, Ateneo tries to extend its domination in the boys section for the eighth consecutive season, while University of the East hopes to retain the girls crown.