Informatics, TUA clash for Sandugo-CAL plum

The Philippine Star

Posted at Sep 26 2012 10:42 AM | Updated as of Sep 26 2012 06:42 PM

MANILA, Philippines - Informatics-A and Trinity University of Asia beat their respective rivals in contrasting fashions to arrange a title showdown in the Sandugo-Collegiate Athletic League (CAL) at the Treston gym inside Bonifacio Global City.

Mark Doligon and Mark Montuano scored 16 and 13, respectively, as Informatics-A dominated Colegio de San Lorenzo from start to finish to fashion out a runaway 72-55 victory in the first semifinal clash in the men’s division.

TUA, behind Paul Payoyo and Nico Bolos, rallied from behind to pull off a thrilling 75-73 win over College of St. Benilde in their own side of the semis duel.

CSB wrested control early, 20-14, but TUA grabbed a 29-28 edge at the turn. They fought it out on even terms in the second half but the Stallions proved steadier in the end to advance to the finals of the event backed by the Philippine Sports Commission, Phiten, PC-Gilmore, Gatorade, Uratex, Primovit Multi-vitamins and Platinum Fitness and sanctioned by the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas.

De La Salle University-Dasmariñas and St. Benilde, meanwhile, will slug it out for the women’s crown after posting similar easy wins over their respective rivals.

The finals will be held Sunday, also at the Treston gym.

DLSU-D exploded in the third quarter then held University of Sto. Tomas to a lone basket in the third period as it ran away with a 47-26 rout.

Kate Mangahas and Dionne Gelisan scored 23 points and 16 markers, respectively, for DLSU-D.

CSB, with Aileen Benadez and Grace Dadal combining for 26 points, trounced Adamson, 81-67, to clinch the other finals berths.

Expected to grace the finals are SBP officials Sonny Barrios and Bernie Atienza, and former PSC commissioner Chito Loyzaga with the league’s individual awards named after cage legend Caloy Loyzaga.

Adamson and UST clash for third at 10 a.m., followed by the CSB-CDSL game, also for third. The women’s finals will start at 1 p.m. while the men’s championship is set at 3 p.m.