Barbosa tied for first in Malaysia tourney


Posted at Sep 24 2012 02:39 PM | Updated as of Sep 25 2012 12:36 AM

MANILA, Philippines – Filipino Grand Master (GM) Oliver Barbosa emerged as co-champion in the 2012 DYTM Raja Nazrin Shah International Open Chess Championships at the Olympic Sports Hotel in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

In the final round of the tournament, Barbosa conquered his compatriot and friend, GM Mark Paragua. He subdued Paragua in their Caro Kann Defense encounter, forcing the latter to resign after 29 moves.

His slow start to the tournament prevented him from winning the title outright, however.

Top-seed GM Sergei Tiviakov of the Netherlands halved the point with International Master (IM) Nguyen Van Huy of Vietnam after 36 moves of Sicilian to match Barbosa’s total of 7.0 points.

Tiviakov took the title with a superior tiebreak points over Barbosa. The two GMs had drawn in their eighth round battle Saturday night.

GM Cao sang and IM Nguyen Duc Hoa of Vietnam settled for a draw after 71 moves of Queen’s Indian Defense to finish half a point back with 6.5 points, the same output of Nguyen Van Huy and IM Jahongir Vakhidov of Uzbekistan.

IMs Ronald Dableo and Oliver Dimakiling downed separate Malaysian foes to earn a share of seventh place with 6.0 points.

Dableo toppled Lim Zhuo Ren while Dimakiling defeated Fide Master Ronnie Lim.

Also finishing with six points were Paragua, FM Julius de Ramos, GM Rout Padmin of India, IM Duong The Anh of Vietnam and Rahman Masruri of Indonesia.

The other Filipinos in the field were IM Rolando Nolte, National Master Almario Bernardino Jr., Eden Diano, Franz Barretto, Stewart Manaoag, Edmundo and Kaye Ann Legaspi, Jimson Bitoon and Rhobel Legaspi.

The tournament was organized by Polgar Chess Asia for the Kuala Lumpur Chess Association and was supported by the Malaysian Chess Federation and sponsored by Masterskill Education Group. Peter Long served as tournament director. By Marlon Bernardino