Dela Torre, Bermudez rule wakeboard elims

The Philippine Star

Posted at Sep 12 2012 01:22 PM | Updated as of Sep 12 2012 09:22 PM

MANILA, Philippines - National team riders Carlo dela Torre and Samantha Bermudez outclassed their rivals to top their respective divisions in the first leg of the first Monster Energy Drink Philippine Qualifier Series (PQS) presented by Safeguard Active at the Lago de Oro Wakepark in Calatagan, Batangas recently.

Dela Torre used his experience and came up with impressive tricks and smooth transition moves through the obstacles to capture the open men’s wakeboard crown while Bermudez flashed awesome stunts, including super technical moves on the sliders, air and inverted tricks which she all mixed up into a well-composed execution to bag the women’s title.

Dela Torre earned 73.3 points for his superb work on the slider or rail-based obstacles, and big technical air tricks capped by a huge method grab 180 from International Waterski and Wakeboard Federation (IWWF) head judge Argyrios Daskalopoulos. Other members of the jury panel were Filipino four-star judge Manfred Ruiz, Bermudez, Chad Venadas and JV Tanjangco.

Symon Cantos piled up 69 points to finish second in the event organized by the Wake Boarding and Waterskiing Association of the Philippines headed by JV Borromeo and backed by DECA Homes, Stokedinc, Ripcurl, Electric Visual, CWB and CTRL Wakeboards.

Bermudez earned 70 points in ruling the distaff side with Andrea Tanjangco finishing second with 56.6 points.

Sharing the spotlight were Moe Gomez and Susan Larsson. Gomez bagged the Men’s Open Wakeskate plum over Christian Joson and Fermin Tamayo while Larsson copped the Women’s Open Wakeskate title over Bermudez and third placer Michiko Kogure.

Borromeo was happy over the success of the event that drew nearly 60 riders including top riders and talented enthusiasts from Davao and Camsur who flew in to support the event and submit themselves for rankings in their desire to beef up the national team.

The WWASP honcho also cited the emergence of young potential champions that will ensure the smooth transition of talents in the national pool.

Among them are Liam Capati who captured the Men’s Masters Masters title over JV Tanjangco and Justin Valdez; Polly Aniciete who emerged Junior Men’s champion over runner-up Carlo Beltran and Angelo Linao; Don Moody who claimed the Boys’ division crown over Cyrus Beltran and Alejandro Miranda; and Mikee Selga who copped the Girls’ division crown over Kelsey Albano.

Participating riders can amass a total of 600 points throughout the three-leg series with 200 points for the leg champion, 185 for the runner-up, 171 for the third placer, 158 for the fourth and 146 points for the fifth placer.

The total points garnered in the three-leg series will serve as the basis for the national rankings to help WWASP determine future members of the RP Teams that will carry the national colors in various wakeboarding and wakeskating competitions abroad including the “IWWF Worlds: 2012 Cable Wakeboard World Championships presented by DECA Homes” which the country will be hosting on November 6-11 at the world class Deca Clark Wake Park

For more info on how to join the events, interested parties may log onto the official website or send email to [email protected] or download registration forms at or contact the WWASP office at Tel. No. 7245886 c/o Belle or C-lo.