PBAPC honors Guiao, Rain or Shine owners


Posted at Sep 10 2012 04:58 PM | Updated as of Sep 11 2012 04:47 PM

MANILA, Philippines – Rain or Shine Elasto Painters head coach Yeng Guiao and team owners Raymond Yu and Terry Que will be among the top awardees tonight at the 2012 PBA Press Corps Annual Awards at Kamayan EDSA.

Guiao will be honored with the Virgilio “Baby” Dalupan Trophy as Coach of the Year, while Yu and Que will receive the Danny Floro Trophy as Executives of the Year.

The Elasto Painters experienced a breakthrough this year as they won their first franchise championship, with Guiao guiding the team to the PBA Governors Cup title. It is the second time in 11 years that Guiao has won the award.

Meanwhile, Smart Gilas Pilipinas and its head coach, Chot Reyes, will receive a special citation for winning the gold medal in the recently concluded William Jones Cup in Taipei.

Gilas II, composed of mostly PBA stars, brought home the country’s first major basketball crown outside of the Southeast Asian region in 14 years.

Reyes will also receive a separate citation for being the first Filipino coach to win the Jones Cup. The Philippines had previously won the tournament under the helm of Ron Jacobs and Tim Cone.

Several players will also be honored for their achievements in the previous PBA season.

Jireh Ibanes (Defensive Player of the Year), Mark Caguioa (Comeback Player of the Year), Larry Fonacier (Mr. Quality Minutes) and Gary David (Scoring Champion) will be among those honored.

Paul Lee, JV Casio, Marcio Lassiter, Dylan Ababou and James Sena will also be honored as the All-Rookie Team.

Sev Sarmenta and Erika Padilla will host the event, which starts at 7 p.m.