Filipino darters take home Malaysian Open title


Posted at Sep 04 2012 06:50 PM | Updated as of Sep 05 2012 02:50 AM

MANILA, Philippines -- Filipino darters won the overall championship in the team category of the Malaysian Open Darts Championship 2012 held at Johor, Malaysia from August 31 to September 2.

Team Neeson Philippines bested 350 participants from different countries including Singapore, Brunei Darussalam, Hong Kong, Thailand, India, Australia, South Korea, New Zealand and Malaysia, making them eligible to play for the World Masters and other big tournaments around the world.

The team is composed of Lourence Ilagan of Cainta, Rizal, Alexei “Ally” Salazar of Malabon City, and Jerry Salenga and Glenn Brunno Parungao of Makati City.

Parungao was the champion in the singles category while Salenga landed in eighth place.

In 2008, Ilagan placed second runner-up while Ronald Arby Briones was adjudged the champion in the singles category in 2010.

“Darts has been very popular among Filipinos not only as a hobby but also as serious sports. With this championship, the Philippines showed it has great potential to compete among world-class players,” Australian darter Rod Neeson, the team's manager, said in a statement.

Aside from individual medals and a team trophy, Team Neeson Philippines walked away with a check amounting to RM12,000 handed over to them by Malaysian Deputy Information, Communications and Culture Minister Datuk Maglin Dennis D'Cruz.

The Malaysian Open Darts Championship is the only internationally-sanctioned tournament in Malaysia offering World Darts Federation ranking points.