Suba saves day for PH

The Philippine Star

Posted at Sep 03 2012 06:33 PM | Updated as of Sep 04 2012 02:33 AM

CARMONA, Cavite, Philippines – Vencer John Suba of Eagle Cement Racing Team (formerly San Miguel Corporation) rose to the occasion to deliver the lone champion trophy for the Philippines when he captured the premier Formula 125 Open Senior crown yesterday in the third leg of the 2012 Asian Karting Open Championships at the Carmona Racetrack here.

Suba unleashed a determined rally to wrest the top spot on the third lap and held on to his post from thereon to claim the top plum.

The event is sanctioned by the Automobile Association Philippines, supported by the Philippine Sports Commission and sponsored by Coca-Cola, Yokohama (the official tire), Sparco, Vivere (official home of Asian karters), Motorstar and Aeromed.

His feat foiled Indonesia’s bid for the crown after its former junior champion Senna Sulaiman Noor topped the Pre-Final heat over four-time Karter of the Year Stefano Marcelo and Milo Rivera of FERN-C Racing, who emerged champion of the first AKOC race last July.

Rivera kept the front seat during the first three laps until Suba, who started sixth on the grid, grabbed the top spot on the fourth lap and held on to his post from thereon.

He completed the 28-lap Final race in 20 minutes and 33.650 seconds as Rivera made it a 1-2 finish for the country after checking in 4.653 seconds later. Noor claimed third place with compatriot Yasuo Senna Iriawan of Red White Racing-Indonesia and Marcelo winding up fourth and fifth respectively.

Suba’s heroics came after the Philippines lost its title bids in the Formula 125 Open Junior and the Mini-ROK classes.

Estefano Rivera of FERN-C Racing appeared headed for a back-to-back crown as he dictated the tempo in the first half of the Final race until Japanese Marino Sato wrested the lead on the 12th lap and pulled away to clinch the Formula 125 Open Junior crown.

Sato clocked 18 minutes and 28.876 seconds in the 22-lap race or 1.996 seconds ahead of Rivera. Cebuano Jette Calderon of Red Bull Supreme-Industria Racing took third place while Raymond Cudala of FERN-C Racing and Daniel Miranda of Cebuana Lhuillier wound up fourth and fifth.

Flynn Jackes of TRS-Castrol Kids also lost his bid to win the Mini-ROK crown on his home turf as Darryl Wenas and Barichello Noor made it another 1-2 finish for Indonesia.

Gabe Cabrera of City Kart checked in third with another Indonesian Keanon Santoso claimed fourth place as Jackes, who later spun out in the dying laps of the race, slipped down to fifth place.

Cudala and AT Tuason of TRS-Castrol Kids led the winners in the other local races, after clinching their second AKOC victories.

Cudala copped the Yamaha Novice crown anew over Carl Luig of AUTS Racing and Bjornar Eikevik of City Kart while Tuason pulled a repeat in the Formula Cadet Expert division over FERN-C Racing’s Dylan Arambulo and TRS-Castrol teammate Wils Casequin.

Wayne Norman Darvin ruled the Yamaha Expert class over Jaz Monzones of Natmo Asia-GP1 Racing and Yvana Carangan of AUTS Racing while Jose Luigi Lachica prevailed over EJ Coseteng of Eagle Cement and newcomer Bianca Bustamante of Industria Racing in the Formula Cadet Novice division.

Don Batino won the SQ Expert crown over Red Bull Supreme teammate Nike Mora and Raul Barretto, Luis Gono bagged the SQ Novice title over Michael Jordan and Michael Bonafe while Mora copped the SQ Veteran plum over Michael Jordan and Gonzalo Julian Jr.

For more info, interested parties may call the Carmona Racetrack c/o Rose Feria at 845-0745, 889-3389, 845-3287 and 845-4142 or visit the website