Bisera swings for first win in ICTSI golf tour

The Philippine Star

Posted at Sep 03 2012 11:45 AM | Updated as of Sep 03 2012 07:45 PM

MANILA, Philippines - Ramil Bisera hopes to ride on the momentum of his recent victory in Davao as he goes for a breakthrough win on the ICTSI Philippine Golf Tour which resumes on Wednesday with the P1 million ICTSI Pueblo de Oro Championship in Cagayan de Oro City.

Bisera teamed up with 15-year-old Micah Shin to best the 107-team field in last week's Davao National Pro-Am at the Apo Golf and Country Club, ending a long slump for the 38-year-old Davaoeño shotmaker.

"I hope to play with a lot more confidence and contend in the last few legs on the pro tour," said Bisera in Filipino.

He will be among the 72 pros teeing off at the Pueblo de Oro Golf and Country for the 11th leg of this year’s pro circuit where he made the cut just three times.

"I've been struggling with my game but my recent win was a big morale-boost," added Bisera, whose last pro leg victory was in 2000 in the defunct Ericsson Tour at Villamor.

But he will be up against a tough field bannered by John Hay leg winner Marvin Dumandan, Negros Occidental stage champion Zanie Boy Gialon, former Philippine Open champion Gerald Rosales, Mhark Fernando, Anthony Fernando, Jerson Balasabas, Cassius Casas, Ferdie Aunzo, Jun Bernis, Michael Bibat, Paul Miñoza, Carl Santos-Ocampo, top rookies Cylde Mondilla and Johvan Abaño.

The men of the tour actually brace for a two-leg swing in Mindanao with Ranchos Palos Verdes in Davao hosting a leg of the Pilipinas Golf Tournaments Inc.-organized circuit for the first time on Sept. 12-14.

Action goes back to Luzon on Oct. 24-26 for the ICTSI Calatagan Challenge in Batangas before Canlubang hosts the penultimate leg on Nov. 14-16 for the ICTSI Canlubang Golf Invitational.

The circuit, sponsored by ICTSI, winds up for the second straight time at Wack Wack, a four-day championship which Frankie Miñoza ruled last year.

The other backers of the event, also serving as the 11th leg of the ICTSI-Philippine Golf Tour, were Empire Golf, Titleist, Footjoy, Callaway, TaylorMade, Mizuno, Srixon, Nike Golf, Custom Clubmakers and Sharp with Balls, Studio 23, and Inquirer Golf.