La Salle dethrones Ateneo in UAAP badminton


Posted at Sep 01 2014 12:13 PM | Updated as of Sep 01 2014 08:13 PM

MANILA, Philippines – De La Salle University dethroned rivals Ateneo de Manila University in swift fashion, 3-0, to forge a men's title due with National University (NU) Sunday in the UAAP Season 77 men's badminton tournament at the Rizal Memorial Badminton Hall.

Former Rookie of the Year winner Gerald Sibayan survived reigning MVP Patrick Natividad, 21-16, 17-21, and 21-16, in the first singles to allow the Green Archers to draw first blood.

John Kenneth Monterubio dominated rookie Carlo Remo, 21-17, 21-12, in the second singles, before Sibayan returned to join forces with Carlos Cayanan in a 21-16, 18-21, 21-19 doubles victory over Patrick Natividad and Justin Natividad to end the Blue Eagles' reign.

Up next for La Salle is a Finals meeting with NU, which is seeking to regain the championship it last won in Season 75.

The Bulldogs went unbeaten in seven elimination ties and will have a thrice-to-beat advantage in the Finals.