PH woodpushers extend streak in Chess Olympiad


Posted at Aug 31 2012 07:12 PM | Updated as of Sep 01 2012 03:12 AM

MANILA, Philippines – The Philippine men’s chess team extended its winning streak with a 4-0 shut out victory over 40th seed Kazakhstan in the 3rd round of the 40th FIDE World Chess Olympiad late Thursday at the WOW Convention Center in Istanbul, Turkey.

GM Mark Paragua (ELO 2508) sacrificed his knight to launch a powerful attack and beat GM Petr Kostenko (2494) after 28 moves of Caro-Kann defense on Board Three.

GM Oliver Barbosa (2554) toppled GM Anuar Ismagambetov (2471) after 61 moves of Queens Indian defense on Board Two.

GM candidate Oliver Dimakiling (ELO 2428) drubbed IM Kiril Kuderinov (2484) after 38 moves of Reti Opening on Board Four.

GM Wesley So (2652), the last Filipino playing in the group, crushed GM Rinat Jumabayev (2525) after 63 moves of Gruenfeld defense in their rook and pawn end game to complete the shut-out victory for the 35th seed Pinoy pawnpushers.

The Philippines men's team earlier blasted No.112 Libya, 4-0, on Tuesday's 1st round then edged No. 23 Moldova, 2.5-1.5, in the 2nd round.

The Philippines men's team will next face No. 3 Armenia, who brought down No. 18 Spain, 2.1-1.5.

National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) Chairman/President Prospero "Butch" Pichay Jr. is very confident that the Filipino woodpushers will give a good fight again in another battle against a former Russian Republic squad.

"Inaasahan ko na magiging madugo ang bakbakan ng men's team natin sa Armenia," said Pichay, who watches the games live thru internet.

The Philippines men's team has tallied 6 match points and shared 1st to 13th places with Armenia, Russia, USA, India, China, Azerbaijan, Germany, France, England, Ukraine, Poland and Hungrary.

In the distaff side, birthday girl Woman International Master (WIM) Catherine Perena (ELO 2091) defeated Woman FIDE Master (WFM) Bahar Hallaeva (2174) as the Philippine women's team blasted Turkmenistan, 3-1.

Woman National Master (WNM) Janelle Mae Frayna (1991) nipped Aknur Isaeva (2011), while WNM Jan Jodilyn Fronda (2022) waylaid Ogulgerek Atabaeva (1917).

WNM Jedara Docena (2061) failed to sustain her winning run against WFM Gozel Atabaeva (2076).
The Filipina woodpushers will next face Mexico. – By Marlon Bernardino