Cone to get PBA Coach of the Year award


Posted at Aug 20 2014 05:56 PM | Updated as of Aug 21 2014 01:56 AM

MANILA, Philippines – San Mig Coffee head coach Tim Cone will receive the Coach of the Year award for steering his team to a Grand Slam finish at the 39th season of the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA).

Cone will receive the Virgilio “Baby” Dalupan trophy at the 2014 PBA Press Corps Annual Awards Night to be held on Thursday at the Richmonde Hotel in Eastwood, Quezon City.

It will be Cone’s third Coach of the Year Award, according to the league’s official website.

The San Mig Coffee coach already surpassed Dalupan as the winningest coach in PBA history with a total of 18 title wins.

PBA Press Corps president Barry Pascua of Bandera will lead the celebration on Thursday.

Also attending the event are PBA greats and guests of honor Atoy Co, Bogs Adornado, Ato Agustin and Jojo Lastimosa, all of whom are members of Grand Slam teams from different eras.

Other awardees include San Mig’s Marc Pingris as Defensive Player of the Year, while his team mates Peter June Simon and Mark Barroca, will be given the Quality Minutes and Order of Merit awards, respectively.

Veteran Asi Taulava was named as the Comeback Player of the Year, while Jayson Castro was hailed as the Scoring Champion.

Greg Slaughter, Ian Sangalang, Justin Melton, Terrence Romeo and Raymond Almazan were named as members of the All-Rookie Team.