NCAA gathers best of the best in All-Star game


Posted at Aug 15 2014 02:59 PM | Updated as of Aug 15 2014 10:59 PM

MANILA, Philippines - The NCAA will gather its best players in an All-Star Game, a slam dunk competition and a three-point shootout at The Arena in San Juan City on Saturday.

The event aims to generate funds for orphan children of Hospicio de San Jose, its NCAA athletes competing abroad and personnel that need assistance.

Management Committee chairman Paul Supan of Jose Rizal said they'll be bringing in about 20 kids from Hospicio for them to get to watch the East, composed of San Beda, Perpetual Help, Arellano University, San Sebastian and Jose Rizal, and the West comprising of St. Benilde, Emilio Aguinaldo, Letran, Mapua and Lyceum.

"We'll have kids from Hospicio de San Jose as guests and beneficiary. Portions of proceeds will also go to NCAA players in the national team and the NCAA personnel assistance fund," said Supan.

San Beda's Baser Amer and Arthur dela Cruz, San Sebastian's Bradwyn Guinto and Perpetual Help's Earl Scottie Thompson, Harold Arboleda and Juneric Baloria will spearhead the East while the West will be led by Letran's Kevin Racal and Mark Cruz, Lyceum's Joseph Gabayni and St. Benilde's Mark Romero and Juan Paulo Taha.

The East's other members are Arellano's Prince Caperal, Isiah Ciriacruz and John Pinto, San Sebastian's Jaymar Perez and Jovit dela Cruz, Jose Rizal's Philip Paniamogan, Michael Mabulac and Bernabe Teodoro and San Beda's Kyle Pascual.

EAC's Jack Arquero, John Tayongtong and Jan Jamon, St. Benilde's Roberto Bartolo, Mapua's Jeson Cantos, Jessie Saitana and Andrew Estrella, Lyceum's Shane Ko and Dexter Zamora and Letran's Rey Nambatac.

The East will be coached by San Beda's Boyet Fernandez while the West by Letran's Caloy Garcia.

Entered in the slam dunk competition are Arellano's Kieth Agovida, Letran's Rey Publico, St. Benilde's Jonathan Grey, Jose Rizal's Abdul Razak Abdul Wahab, Mapua's Jeson Cantos, San Beda's Ola Adeogun, San Sebastian's Jaymar Perez, Perpetual's Ric Gallardo, EAC's Sidney Onwubere and Lyceum's Jebb Bulawan.

The three-point shootout participants are Arellano's Levi Hernandez, Letran's Kevin Racal, St. Benilde's Travis Jonson, Jose Rizal's Philip Paniamogan, Mapua's Exeqiel Biteng, San Beda's Anthony Semerad, San Sebastian's Jamil Ortuoste, Perpetual's Harold Arboleda, EAC's Jan Jamon and Lyceum's Wilson Baltazar.

Spicing up the day is the Ms. NCAA 2014 set at 10:30 a.m.