La Salle, NU remain unbeaten in UAAP badminton


Posted at Aug 13 2014 04:28 PM | Updated as of Aug 14 2014 12:28 AM

MANILA, Philippines – De La Salle University and National University (NU) booked their third consecutive victories to remain lords of UAAP Season 77 men's badminton on Wednesday at the Rizal Memorial Badminton Hall.

The Green Archers shut out University of the East (UE), 5-0, while the Bulldogs turned back University of Santo Tomas (UST), 4-1.

In other results, defending champion Ateneo, with reigning MVP Patrick Natividad leading the way, posted a 4-1 win over University of the Philippines (UP) to bounce back from last Sunday's loss to La Salle and stay in third place at 2-1; while Adamson University routed Far Eastern University (FEU), 5-0, to enter the win column.

John Kenneth Monterubio opened the tie with a 21-10, 21-15 victory over Arman Manlalangit in the opening singles, while Elijah Abdel Boac beat Benjamin Silva, 21-15, 21-12, in the second singles to give the Green Archers a 2-0 cushion.

Gerald Sibayan and Carlos Cayanan then defeated Manlalangit and John Cruz in the first doubles, 21-13, 21-13, before Prince Joshua Monterubio and his brother John Kenneth outlasted Ramon Guerrero and John Gomez, 17-21, 21-15, 21-19, in the second doubles.

Jericson Oba-ob gave La Salle the shutout win with a 21-19, 21-9 decision over McNeil Roldan in the third singles.

Meanwhile, Ariel Magnaye, a 21-16, 21-14 winner over John Paul Yabut, Rosleenard Pedrosa, who beat PJ Pantig, 16-21, 21-19, 21-15, and former MVP Joper Escueta, who downed Lee Sabanal, 21-14, 21-13, provided singles victories for the Bulldogs.

The doubles pair of Escueta and Magnaye clinched the tie for NU with a smashing 21-3, 21-12 triumph over John Edgard Reyes and Matt Tungul.

Pantig and Patrique Magnaye averted a shutout for the Growling Tigers with a 21-14, 21-13 decision over Alvin Morada and Paul Gonzales.

The Red Warriors, Tigers, Falcons and the Fighting Maroons are locked in a four-way tie at 1-2, while the Tamaraws remain winless in three starts.